Trust me, you’ll love it.

9 Dec

I was reading some back issues of Rocks in my Dryer the other day when I came upon this recipe for a new snack mix.  I have to admit, it didn’t sound very good, but she insisted that it was amazing.  I’m always  looking for a new mix (who isn’t?) so I decided to give it a try.

The recipe says it makes 7 1/2 quarts.  For those of you who, like me, have no idea how to estimate the true amount of 7 1/2 quarts, let me break it down for you:  There was snack mix coming out our ears.   It filled two gargantuan bowls, and those were overflowing as I stirred.  Then came the true challenge:  the recipe calls for spreading the mix out to cool.  My girlfriend and I thought we were going to have to clear the piano top to make room for all the goodness, but we managed to finagle  enough space on my countertops to do the job.  (ps…Finagle?  Great word, but I’ll admit I had to look up the spelling.  That’s correct, for all you spelling bee champs out there.)

So we cool the treats, and scoop them into gift boxes lined with a festive Christmas napkin.  (Truth be told I really wanted to use those Christmas tins that grandmas always have just so I could feel all Mrs. Claus-y, but the already-in-my-pantry boxes were a much more economical option.)  At this point my girlfriend had already tried the mix and whole-heartedly approved, but I still couldn’t stomach it.

We passed out the goodies to our neighbors on the street (aka The Buck Creek Dorm) and everyone ooh-ed and ah-ed over it.  I thought about trying it; everyone else seemed to love it.

Nope.  Couldn’t do it. 

For two days everyone else went bananas about the silly snack mix, while I tried to get up the nerve to try a bite.

And then last night, I finally did it.

WHY DIDN’T SOMEONE TELL ME HOW GOOD IT WAS???????

Not kind of good.  Really good.  Slap-your-mama good.  Died-and-gone-to-heaven good.  DAMN good.  (Sorry Dad.)

So now, without further ado, I give you the recipe for Corny Snack Mix.  Trust me, you’ll love it.

Ingredients:

  • 3 quarts popped popcorn
  • 1 package (15 ounces) Corn Pops
  • 1 package (15 ounces) corn chips
  • 2 packages (10 to 12 ounces each) vanilla or white chips

Directions:

In several large bowls, combine the popcorn, Corn Pops and corn chips.
    In a large saucepan, over medium-low heat, melt chips; stir until smooth. Pour over popcorn mixture and toss to coat.
    Spread onto two 15-in. x 10-in. x 1-in. baking pans. Cool. Store in airtight containers. Yield: 7-1/2 quarts.

NOTE:  I couldn’t find the popcorn, Corn Pops, or Fritos in the exact amounts given, so I eyeballed it to make it 1:1:1.

ENJOY!!

3 Responses to “Trust me, you’ll love it.”

  1. Heather of the EO December 9, 2008 at 8:11 pm #

    I’m a snack mix-aholic. I have to try this. I even love corn pops. I’m weird.

  2. Julie December 10, 2008 at 1:35 pm #

    Perfect! You’ve just given me my teacher, dr.,neighborhood gift recipe for this year!! Did you pop plain popcorn or use microwave or buy bags of already popped? And, what’s the difference between white and vanilla chips? Can’t wait to try this! Yum!

  3. Julie December 10, 2008 at 5:48 pm #

    Okay…yum, yum yum!! We made a batch of this after school and it is so good! I’m thinking a big ‘ole bag of this would make your drive to Breckenridge much happier for all! (:

Leave a comment