Tuesday Ten

9 Sep

I have been sick since Saturday, so I’ve nothing new or interesting to write about.  I even googled “meme” to try to get some ideas, but that produced nada.  So here is my oh-so-clever-and-unique (NOT!) meme for today.  It’s so pathetic I’m not even going to tag anyone. 

Ten Things You Probably Don’t Know About Me (Or maybe you do, in which case, just skip it.)

1.  I love Mexican food.  But I think it was better in Houston.  San Antonio is all about “mex-mex” and I like tex-mex better.  It has to do with the grease and the sauce.  (I love the grease and the sauce.)

2.  I love NY.  It’s almost obsessive.  Really.  Don’t even get me started on the joy of riding the subway, or busting through foot traffic on a busy street, or finding a cool little cafe to have a cup of coffee.  I love it.

3.  I love Disney World.  It’s my happy place, and I mean it.  There have been several difficult times in my life that were healed by a trip to Disney World.  I’ve always hoped Hubs would get transferred to Orlando so I could work there…I want to be Mary Poppins, or dance in the parades, or sing in the Hoop De Do Revue.

4.  I was a music major at Baylor before becoming a nurse.  I was planning on being a school music teacher.  After my brother’s death and my heart diagnosis I decided the fastest way to get in control of the situation was with information, and for me that translated into nursing.  I had always been terrified of hospitals and needles, etc., so this was a dramatic change of heart.   (Get it?  Change of heart?  I kill me.)

5.  Although I’m not at all OCD at home, in the Operating Room I was extremely OCD.  I even had to turn all the medicine bottles in the same direction and place them in size order.  Very bizarre.

6.  I still don’t know what I’m going to be when I grow up.  I toy around with all kinds of masters degrees:  education, music, nursing, psychology…who knows. 

7.  When my best friend and I were little we used to play “adoption agency”.  We would set all the dolls around the room and then one of us would be the agency lady and one would be the mom (with an imaginary dad, of course.)  We’d look at all the babies and then choose one to take home.  Strange that both of us ended up being adoptive moms.  And we’ve never met anyone else that played this game. 

8.  I am absolutely addicted to the tv show Mad Men on AMC.  It’s on Sunday nights.  It’s a drama about the advertising world on Madison Avenue in the early ’60’s.  It’s a fascinating look at life in the ’60’s…the men, their wives and families, their women.  The costumes and sets are incredible, and the acting is superb.  You should watch it.

9.  Hubs and I play a game whenever we go out together.  We turn on XM to the ’80’s station.  The first person to name the group singing the song wins a point.  We keep a running tally all night.  He usually wins, but every once in a while I pull one out – usually the one-hit wonders (I get Debbie Gibson and Tiffany every time.)

10.  I can’t think of another one.  So 9 will have to suffice.

I’m off to take more drugs.  I actually think that if someone could lop my head off I’d feel significantly better.  I asked Hubs to do it last night, but he wasn’t willing. 

Achoo.

8 Responses to “Tuesday Ten”

  1. anymommy September 9, 2008 at 3:15 pm #

    Yum, Mexican, you had me at number one! Seriously, a great list. I learned a lot about you. Hope you feel better soon.

  2. jane September 9, 2008 at 5:16 pm #

    Ok your certified Houston crazy – San Antonio has the most awesome Tex-Mex (my Dad grew up there and was raised on Mi Tiera and La Fogata!)…. He even has some of the receipies memorized! Get out more Sistah – those peppers will clear out your sinus cavity! Also, there is a tamale maker in Sisterdale that is the BOSS! And, Caritas in Boerne….

  3. Julie September 9, 2008 at 7:33 pm #

    Personally, I love that you couldn’t think of 10 so you just quit and called 9 good enough. I would have sat at my computer forever trying to think of one more thing and then probably scrapped the whole thing when it wouldn’t come to me…can you say perfectionist?? Feel better soon…my little one’s been home sick all week too! Though I must admit I’ve loved having her home and pretending that it’s still summer vacation (well, without the swimming and s’mores!!)

  4. Trish September 10, 2008 at 8:31 am #

    Mad Men! I’m totally addicted! Doo-doo doo-doo, doo-doo doo-doo, doo-doo doo-doo, doo-doo doo-doo, dooooooh 🙂

  5. The Introvert September 11, 2008 at 12:02 am #

    So apparently we have quite a bit in common. Especially the love of Mexican food (And you’re right. Houston has awesome Mexican food. I love Doneraki’s and Molina’s).

    I am officially addicted to Mad Men as well. In fact, hubs has to download it off the interwebs since we don’t have that channel right now. Still haven’t seen last Sunday’s episode and it’s driving me nuts!

  6. Kristi September 12, 2008 at 8:25 am #

    Playing adoption agency with you is one of my favorite childhood memories! Oh, how I long for Tex-Mex…

  7. Barb September 13, 2008 at 12:43 pm #

    I knew all of them except #8 and 9. What do I win??

  8. Tammy September 14, 2008 at 7:17 pm #

    It’s nice to “meet” you.

    First time visiting your blog from AllMediocre.

    I am also an (ex)nurse…turned SAHM.

Leave a comment