It’s gonna be a KAH-RAZY week

15 Sep

I am opening a show on Saturday night in San Antonio called Forbidden Broadway.  Some of my friends think that means it’s “forbidden” like dirty.  No.  Would I do that?  No.  It’s a spoof on a bunch of Broadway musicals.  I play at least eight different characters, including Carol Channing, Rita Moreno, Mimi from Rent, Fantine from Les Mis, Tracy Turnblad from Hairspray…I’m so tired I can’t think of the rest.  There are three other VERY talented actors in the cast as well, all playing a variety of roles themselves.  It’s pretty darn funny.

Like I said, we open on Saturday so this is “Hell Week”.  We’ll rehearse from 7 until we finish each night.  Or until we drop with exhaustion.  Or until someone starts crying.  Or until someone storms out of rehearsal because they’ve had it.  (Well, that won’t happen with this group, but I’ve seen it before.  Where there’s actors, there’s drama!) I’m telling you, it’s good times. 

The worst part of Hell Week for me is the fear.  You NEVER feel ready.  You ALWAYS need another week.  There are so many factors that have to come together, and that usually doesn’t happen until the very last minute.  And with all the costume and wig changes in this show, it adds a whole other element of things that can go horribly wrong.  I could so easily not make a change and go out in the wrong costume or the right costume with the wrong wig, or worse yet, no wig at all.  Have you ever seen a woman in stage makeup wearing a wig cap?  It’s a pantyhose on your head, and it’s NOT attractive.  I’m getting nervous even talking about it.  Ugh.

Anyhoo, at some point the whole thing will magically come together and we’ll have a show.  And then it’ll be fantastic.  The nice thing about this show is that we run for four weekends, so there’s plenty of time to enjoy all the hard work we put in.  But for now? 

It’s gonna be a crazy week.

6 Responses to “It’s gonna be a KAH-RAZY week”

  1. jane September 15, 2008 at 3:56 pm #

    Don’t you have Houston people stacked up to the roof?
    We have been here at my parents house in Austin since 3:30am on Friday and still no power at home. Rick went home today to check on house and animals and Jellybean the cat was not a happy hurricane camper! We hope to get home by the end of the week. We are 3rd or 4th on the priority ranking to have electricity.

  2. Barb September 15, 2008 at 7:07 pm #

    Break a leg! Wish I could be there….

  3. anymommy September 16, 2008 at 4:02 pm #

    Whoo hoo! Love the picture. Wish I could come and see you perform. Break a leg (is that right, it always sounds terrible to me!).

  4. Amy Seay September 16, 2008 at 8:43 pm #

    Go Katy! You’ll be great. I wish I could come to see the show! Nice boobies!

  5. Vaniqua September 17, 2008 at 11:39 pm #

    Are you Tracy in this pic?

  6. James September 18, 2008 at 12:15 pm #

    Hi, I found your blog on this new directory of WordPress Blogs at blackhatbootcamp.com/listofwordpressblogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, i duno. Anyways, I just clicked it and here I am. Your blog looks good. Have a nice day. James.

Leave a Reply

