Drowning

5 Jun

I stand on the shore, feet in the hot sand, and watch her.  She’s making her way out past the waves; jumping, splashing, smiling, waving.  She is happy.  And then, in a heartbeat, she disappears.  The deep sea of her disease overcomes her once again and she is drowning.  I yell for help.  I splash through the water trying to get to her but she is carried further and further away.   I push my body against the water reaching my arms to her, desperate to grab her hand and pull her out of danger, but she is always just out of my grasp.

I call to her.

I call to God.  I beg Him, “Please save her!

But there is just silence.

She is drowning.  And I cannot save her.

 

Leave a Reply

