Worth the Wait

19 Mar

Why is it so hard to be patient?

What does it really require?  Sitting around, killing time…nothing difficult about that.

And yet I find that some of my most challenging parenting moments come when I’m forced to be patient.  My Sweet Pea is many things, not the least of which is never, ever in a hurry. Girlfriend is slow.  Turtle slow.  Molasses slow.  S-L-O-W.  It seems to be a combination of her perfectionism, her obsessiveness, and her complete inability to sense time.  Add these three together and you’ve got a recipe for slow soup.  And you know what they say, a watched pot never boils.  Ay, there’s the rub.

That soup doesn’t boil until I walk away.  But I can’t walk away or she’ll never turn up the heat and get cooking!  (Okay, enough with this metaphor, I’m getting hungry.)  Do you see what I mean, though?  If I sit back patiently it can take HOURS for her to complete what should be done in mere minutes.  But when I intervene it’s a sure thing that she’ll get frustrated and put on the brakes, slowing us down even more.

We’ve tried all the techniques:  timers, warnings, rewards, punishments.  Nothing works.  She is completely driven by her own internal forces, and until she decides to move, we’re not going anywhere.   And so I wait.  Patiently.

Sitting.

Breathing.

Drumming fingers.

Gritting teeth.

But always, always patient.

 

Until I lose it.

“Get up!” I yell.

“Let’s go!” I scream.

“I can’t wait anymore!’  I shout.

I stomp my feet and make a scene and she looks at me like I’ve lost my mind and says “just a minute” which turns into five which turns into ten which only infuriates me more and I yell again and then finally sit down in a humph and realize

I. Must. Be. Patient.

Sit.

Breathe.

Wait.

Again.

The minutes creep by but eventually we move on.  Always on her time, at her speed.  And then I remember

 

She is worth the wait.

 

One Response to “Worth the Wait”

  1. Amy Hennessee March 19, 2012 at 5:00 pm #

    Girl, your waiting times are when you are “between the rains.” Dt. 11:13-14; James 5:7. (I stole this from Beth Moore) Just remember that when the sun rises in the morning, you know your rain will come. Hosea 6:3. Just keep looking to the horizon for that one, fist-sized rain cloud. 1 Kings 18:41-46. Your rain will come.

Leave a Reply

