The Anti-Resolution

30 Dec

It’s that time of year again – time to make New Year’s resolutions.  So often we resolve to do more;  more exercise, more dieting, more prayer, more reading.  Well this year I’m making the anti-resolution.  I’m going to do less.

less worrying;  it’s just not getting me anywhere

less yelling;  it (quite literally) falls on deaf ears

less freaking out; a) it’s not very ladylike, and b) it comes with a horrendous hangover

less doubting myself;  I was chosen to be her mother for a reason, even if I can’t see it

less insomnia;  tossing and turning doesn’t solve anything

less beating myself up for falling short of perfect; there’s just no such thing

less talking;  listening is better

less anger; getting mad only makes things worse

less guilt; accepting grace trumps assuming  judgment

 

Less.  Not more.  I’m tired of trying to be more:  more perfect, more beautiful, more youthful.  I’m done.

This year I resolve to do less.

2 Responses to “The Anti-Resolution”

  1. summer December 30, 2010 at 9:49 am #

    I love this! I am with you this year. I am tired of worrying and getting upset at things that frankly I can’t change and yelling about it won’t make it go away and it seriously is not helping the situation. Thanks for this post, it makes me feel great to know others feel the same. Love you girl! 🙂

  2. Julie December 30, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

    LOVE this so much!!!!

Leave a Reply

