Divine Inspiration

30 Jul

Merriam Webster defines the word reveal as ‘to make known through divine inspiration’. 

This is encouraging, since I’m expecting divine intervention to make this whole job thing happen.  I find myself looking everywhere for said inpiration, but how do you know if that feeling deep in your gut is a sign from God or just a chocolate craving?  How do you know if the person on the other end of the phone is the one?  How do you know if the fact that a job sounds perfect is just coincidence?  I’m in a time-sensitive situation, but does that mean that a job that won’t open until October isn’t right?  Do I expect God to make it happen now, just because that’s what the budget calls for? 

I firmly believe that God expects us to do our part to make things happen in life.  I have completed at least ten oh-so-painful online applications, and submitted more resumes than that.  I have combed at least 50 websites, looking for the right job to pop off the page.  I have called untold numbers of schools asking the secretary “do you need a school nurse”?  I am networking through every resource I have. 

And yet?  No bites. 

I’m an optimist.  And regardless of the amount of tears I’ve shed over the stress of this situation, I wake up every morning believing this is the day it’s going to happen.

But you know what that means, right?  Disappointment, doubt, fear, and feelings of utter failure when it doesn’t. 

We’ve all been there.  We’ve all had times in our lives when things didn’t fall into place the way we thought they would.  And in six months we look back and say “wow, see how that all worked out??”  I’m not gonna lie.  I’m ready to fast-forward to that point. 

I’m ready to look back on what God has done instead of looking forward to the big reveal.

One Response to “Divine Inspiration”

  1. summer July 30, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

    Katy! I totally understand! I know it will work out for the best… look at us in fort worth now…. never thought this would happen, but we are here and know this is where God wanted us to be. In the whirlwind of things waiting, praying, expecting can be hard, but in the end makes us stronger. Love you girl and praying for you. Can’t wait to hear about the big reveal! 🙂

Leave a Reply

