Are you there God? It’s me, funny girl.

28 Jul

Dear  God,

I need your help.  You started us on this path a year ago.  Y0u led us to the right school for Sweet Pea; you got us through many, many obstacles.  We are convinced that this is the right place for her.  We’ve bought uniforms, and filled out paperwork, and even found a therapist to help her with the transition. 

But there’s this one little thing, and I know it’s no surprise to you.  The tuition, well, it ain’t cheap.  So if you could go ahead and provide a job for me, that would be great.  I’ve applied, I’ve interviewed, I’ve applied some more, I’ve made phone calls, I’ve written letters…but nada.  Zilch. Cero. 

Now God, you know I’m faithful.  We set a goal date of August 23 a long time ago.  And if someone asked me to bet a million dollars that I’d be starting a job on that day, I’d still do it.  I believe you have something for me.  It’s just that, you know, it’s getting kind of close to that date.  And the first payment is due soon.  And it sure feels like a lot of doors are closing instead of opening.

I realize you’ve done many things harder than this.  I mean, parting the red sea, that was a biggie.  And that time you turned a couple of loaves of bread and some fish  into a meal for thousands?  Big.  And remember that couple who so desperately wanted a baby girl and you brought them a sweet pea?  That was huge. 

But I’m anxious, God.  I can’t eat.  I can’t sleep.  I’m fusty.  I’m trying to be patient, but it’s testing me. 

Please, please show me what you have for me.

And God? 

Thanks.

funny girl

When anxiety was great within me, your consolation brought joy to my soul.  Psalm 94:19

3 Responses to “Are you there God? It’s me, funny girl.”

  1. Catherine July 28, 2010 at 1:01 pm #

    “Now, my God, may your eyes be open and your ears attentive to the prayers offered in this place.
    2 Chronicles 6:40

  2. Darla Baerg July 28, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

    Praying for you!

    PS Love the new blog look. Great to see you in H-town. I’m sure I won’t see or hear from Cindy again til you return. 🙂

  3. Ginny August 8, 2010 at 8:20 pm #

    I’m not the one to tell anybody what to do, especially when it comes to faith and especially when I’m confident that person knows more than I do, but I’m always reminded that you have to give it to Him fully, in order to be at peace. Can’t worry, can’t stress, just KNOW that it’ll all fall in place at the right time. 🙂 Hugs and prayers!

Leave a Reply

