The Gospel According to Carrie Bradshaw

6 May

I came late to the Sex and the City party.  When it debuted I didn’t have HBO (still don’t…why is that??) and those were the days when I still thought talking about *sex* was slightly scandalous. 

Clearly, I’ve changed.

I saw the original SATC movie on opening weekend a couple of years ago, and I was hooked.  My girlfriends had already been trying to get me on the bandwagon, but I just hadn’t jumped on.  Well, that was then.

This is now.  I’m obsessed.  I told a friend the other day “this semester, I’m studying Carrie Bradshaw” and I meant it.  I started watching the entire series this January, with the goal of watching every single episode by May 28th, when I’m going to see SATC2.  This is quite a commitment.  At 30 minutes per episode, and 12-18 episodes per season, times 8 seasons…that’s….well….a lot.  (Who has time for math??)  I started with season 8, then 7, then I jumped back to the beginning because going backwards was making me a confused.  I have now progressed through 1, 2, 3, and half of 4.  (In other words, she’s met Big, broken up with Big, met Aiden, cheated on Aiden with Big, and gotten back together with Aiden…what???) 

Hubs doesn’t understand my affinity for Carrie and company.  Of course, he always seems to walk in the room during the 30 seconds of skin in an otherwise completely rated G episode.  (Happens every time!!)  Here’s the thing:  to me, SATC isn’t about sex.  I mean, yes, there’s lots of sex talk.  You know what?  I’m 37.  I can handle it.  SATC is about friendship – true female friendship, that doesn’t judge or criticize.  Those four characters are immensely different from one another, yet they continue to support each other through every situation, even when they don’t necessarily agree.  They’re honest when they differ, but they love each other unconditionally, regardless of their opinions.  They call each other out, but they do it in love.  And when they have a huge fight, which rarely happens, they work it out with real forgiveness. 

And I have to wonder:  Isn’t that exactly what we’re supposed to do? 

Love others.  No judgment. 

Even when you think they spent way too much on a pair of Manolos.  🙂

4 Responses to “The Gospel According to Carrie Bradshaw”

  1. Kate May 6, 2010 at 3:24 pm #

    Love it. Love you.

  2. Allison Newsom May 6, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

    LOVE your thoughts on this Katy, and I completely agree. 1000000000000%. SATC is one of my absolute favorite shows. I came on the bandwagon a little late, too, however it was a little before you. On my last trip to NY, we went to Magnolia. Yes, I have heard they have delicious cupcakes, but my true reason for wanting to go was because of SATC. I’m determined – when the time comes and I get married – that I will have my bachelorette “shindig” in NYC and we will do a SATC bachelorette-themed weekend. Like you said, the show is about unconditional friendship and love. Would that not be perfect?

    Anyhow – just wanted to say that I agree and love your post! Can’t wait to see you at RENT!

  3. GG May 7, 2010 at 9:27 am #

    Have never seen even one episode of SATC….no good reason. Time perhaps. NTL, it sounds like an updated version of “Golden Girls”. Don’t laugh…it is all about TRUE friendship, acceptance, helping each other out of a jam, calling each other out and yes, it too is spiced with SEX. Got to love that Blanche Devereaux!!

  4. Erin May 9, 2010 at 6:43 pm #

    Welcome to the SATC party! I have been a proud watcher since 2000 when my roommate Melinda returned home from visiting her cousins on the East coast and had SATC season 2 in her hands. We watched all episodes in one weekend and anxiously waited for season 3 (which was the best, in my opinion…). Every Sunday consisted of Marlboro Lights, cosmopolitans, and wishing we had the money to afford some Manolos for ourselves! And you’re right – it all comes down to those 4 girls, no matter what fabulous men enter their lives!

Leave a Reply

