As Billy Crystal said in When Harry Met Sally, “I’m not ready.”

18 Nov

My rehearsal dinner was fun.  LOTS of fun.  Shoot, the whole wedding weekend was fun (except for that one horrible moment when my veil wouldn’t sit right on my head and I started crying and my mom used some kind of old nursing cap magic trick to pin it to my head…when I took it off later I found a folded kleenex and a bunch of bobby pins…I don’t know what she did!)  But I digress…we’re talking about the rehearsal dinner.

My dad is a minister, and he had been planning my wedding my whole life.  Little did I know, he’d been planning his rehearsal dinner speech as well.  He stood up and pulled out a stack of notes I had written to him throughout my teenage years. My dad was a single parent from the time I was 10, so we communicated in notes ALOT.   They were all hilarious…and all embarassing. 

The MOST embarassing was this:  He said that I went to camp the summer after 6th grade,  and apparently I had been talking to some of the girls, because he found a note that said something like this:

Dear Dad,

While I was at camp, I started shaving my legs.  I am very embarassed about this and I don’t want to talk about it, ever.  Please buy me a package of pink daisy razors and leave them on my bed. 

Love,

funny girl

He says he did exactly what I asked and never said a word.  A few weeks later we happened to be sitting together in church.  I was wearing a dress and I crossed my legs and thought I caught him looking at them.  I leaned over, cut my eyes over at him,  and said “they look pretty good, don’t they?”

Oh no he didn’t!

Oh yes he did. 

He told that story in front of Hubs and Hubs’ family and Hubs’ extended family and all our friends.  Thanks Dad.  Thanks a lot.

Why do I tell you this story? 

Because I think it may be time to buy the daisy razors.  God help me.

3 Responses to “As Billy Crystal said in When Harry Met Sally, “I’m not ready.””

  1. Darla November 18, 2009 at 2:32 pm #

    You are SO funny.

  2. meg November 18, 2009 at 6:59 pm #

    I wish I could have been there for that! How awesome!
    And on the flip side, how scary to have to be thinking about buying said razors and deorderant for a daughter….

  3. Barb November 21, 2009 at 9:57 pm #

    I’ll be buying the razors right along with ya, sister!

Leave a Reply

