O Christmas Tree

16 Nov

I’ve got some big decisions to make about the holidays this year.  Here’s the deal.  We are leaving on Monday to spend Thanksgiving week in Houston.  We’ll return the Saturday after Thanksgiving.  Then I leave Wednesday the 2nd for NYC.  (AAAAHHHHHHH!!!!!)  I return Monday the 7th.  We are at home until Dec. 23, when we will leave for Houston again.  We won’t return to SATX until Jan. 3, and I start rehearsals for my next show on January 4.  Confused??

So I’m trying to decide whether or not to put up a tree this year.  We often travel over Christmas and have made the decision before NOT to put up a Christmas tree.  This year it seems especially reasonable to consider skipping it.  I’ll have to put it up before Thanksgiving (which is against my general principles, and I’m not even sure you can buy one this early) and by the time we return from Christmas it will be dead and my den will be covered in needles and I’ll still have to take down all the ornaments which will drop more needles…you see my point.

On the other hand, I LOVE decorating the tree.  I love the smell of the house with the fresh tree giving off its piney goodness.  I love the twinkling lights.  I love reminiscing as I carefully and lovingly hang each and every ornament in just the right spot.  There is joy in it, and I need joy.  J-O-Y, down in my heart, deep deep down in my heart!!  (Did anyone else grow up singing that song??)

So there is is.   Hubs and I are going to caucus (love you Tim Gunn!) with Sweet Pea tonight and come to a decision.  I told him if any of the three of us feel strongly about it then I will do it.  We shall see…

 

6 Responses to “O Christmas Tree”

  1. Darla November 16, 2009 at 3:38 pm #

    You must have a tree. Don’t decorate the house but put up the tree. But then again, I’m not part of the caucus. 🙂

    • kathrynsmoore November 16, 2009 at 3:48 pm #

      Interesting. I was thinking house but no tree. I like it!

  2. meg November 16, 2009 at 6:35 pm #

    I’m voting for decorate the heck out of the house, but skip the tree. Live trees can be dangerous, especially if you are planning to be gone for awhile. If you’d like the smell, go for some greens on the mantle or spread around. Same effect, much safer.

  3. meg November 16, 2009 at 6:36 pm #

    and P.S> I’ve been known to put enough white twinkle lights up in the house alone to fully light the room without \turning on overheads. 🙂

  4. Donna H November 16, 2009 at 9:16 pm #

    We have family come in for New Years and celebrate our 2nd Christmas at that time. Because I was tired of having a dead tree in my house on New Year’s, we put off getting our tree until around the 15th of December. Still nice and green at New Year’s. I decorate the house well before that, though. One day for the house and one day for the tree. Less stress and tree that lives.

  5. Donna H November 16, 2009 at 9:16 pm #

    BTW, loving your blog!!!

Leave a Reply

