Delighted

15 Nov

My bloggy-friend Anymommy just saved the day.  I have been back and forth on what to write, so I decided to surf around for a little inspiration.  Should’ve known I could count on Any.  I highly recommend you go there, but don’t do it until you’ve read this, because I promise once you begin reading her phenomenal writing you’ll hardly come up for air, much less return to read my paltry entry.  Yesterday she asked a question that leads me right where I need to be.  “What do you do to show your children you are delighted in them?”

I am going to take this one step further.  Things have been a mite bit heavy at Funny Girl headquarters, so if you’ll indulge me, I’d like to tell you all the ways Sweet Pea delights me.  In spite of her challenges, she is an absolutely amazing kid.  Here’s are a few of the reasons why:

She’s funny.  REALLY funny.  I like to think she inherited that from me.  😉

Girlfriend can groove.  I’m serious.  She like to shaky-shaky.   (Must’ve inherited that from Hubs.)

She loves to sing.  I love to listen to her sing.  She is usually a smidge off-pitch due to her hearing loss, but it is one of the most beautiful sounds I know.

Speaking of her hearing loss, she is an almost perfect lip-reader.  Unfortunately she forgets that I am not nearly as good at it as she is, so she gets frustrated when she’s trying to talk to me in church and I don’t understand her.  Give it a try.  You’ll be impressed.

Also, she is an amazing speller.  In general, people with hearing loss have a very difficult time with reading/spelling due to its relationship with sound.  She never studies for her spelling tests and she almost always get a 100.  Spelling is important to me.  I think things should ALWAYS be spelled correctly.  So this delights my nerdy side.

Despite her social difficulties, she is unbelievably generous.  She literally tried to give a friend the shirt off her back when her friend didn’t have the right clothes to wear on the field trip to the Symphony.   Today at lunch she insisted that we buy a cookie and divide it into four parts for she and her three friends.  Love it.

 

Now, how do I delight IN her?  That’s somewhat trickier, isn’t it?  I suspect most parents of 10 year olds would agree that finding ways to encourage our children while still being “cool” is a daily challenge.  And I certainly cross the line into uncool on plenty of occasions when I’m just trying to do something nice for her. 

Case in point:  She is having a growth spurt and has outgrown her belts.  I offered to go into my closet and let her borrow one of mine.  Now let me be clear; these are cool belts.  We’re not talking dorkville.  Anyway she looked at me, cocked her head, and said “I am NOT going to wear my mother’s belt.”  I knew right then that she does not see trendy, fashionable Funny Girl.  She sees a mother.  An old woman who is neither trendy nor fashionable.  (Note:  this didn’t stop her from borrowing my silver ballet flats for church today.  Just saying.)

ANYHOO…things I do to delight in Sweet Pea:

Every morning I crawl into her bed and we snooze together.  She likes to wake up slowly (let’s face it, so do I) and I always hope those minutes of snuggling will fill her tank for the day ahead.

Each afternoon I meet her at the corner and carry her backpack home.  It is my way of literally shouldering her load.

Each evening I sit in her bed and read aloud to her.  She is an avid reader, and can read much faster alone, but she begs me to do it and I indulge her, sometimes for up to an hour. 

I try to give her little looks:  a smile, a wink, a thumbs up, the OK sign…she doesn’t want to hear me talk, but she loves knowing I approve. 

My favorite right now is the kiss on her head.  I don’t have to say anything.  Just a pause, a kiss, maybe a squeeze on her shoulder. 

 

May we all find ways to delight in each other this week.

3 Responses to “Delighted”

  1. Barb November 16, 2009 at 8:53 am #

    Sweet!

  2. Julie November 16, 2009 at 3:54 pm #

    I love this. One of my favorite posts!

    And, you MUST put up a tree…even if you just have one evening where you can sit with a cup of hot tea or hot cocoa after hubs and Abs are in bed and just BE. You just must have the tree…keep us posted!

  3. anymommy November 18, 2009 at 12:40 am #

    Love this. Seriously, now you’ve inspired me, I may post about delight again from this angle!

Leave a Reply

