What I’ve been reading lately

14 Nov

I’m not gonna lie.  I am writing this one a day ahead so I can hit publish in the morning before I head out of town for a night.

So if it feels like I’m phoning it in, well, I am.  You got me.

Here’s my summer reading list.  I’m too tired to link it up to Amazon, so you’ll have to copy/paste.  Sorry.  I said I was phoning it in.

The Guernsay Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society – best book I read all summer.  It is the post WWII tale of a writer who discovers the incredible story of the residents of the British island of Guernsay during the occupation.  Get it.  Read it.  Now.

The End of the Affair – another post WWII story, this one of the affair between a man and woman and the effect it has on both of them spiritually.  It was somewhat tedious, but I liked it.

The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle – translated into English from Japanese; a 1980’s-era story of a man who is unemployed and the strange characters he encounters day to day.  This book was too…ethereal? for me.  It is described as “dream-like” but that translated into disconnected and unrealistic to me.  There was value in some of the lessons he learns, but I couldn’t make it to the end.

Gap Creek – pioneer-era story of a girl’s journey to womanhood through various trials during the early years of her marriage. Loved it.

That’s it for my summer.  The list seems short, doesn’t it?  Ah well, I’ve had a few other things on my plate.  I am currently reading The Group.  This book was given a cameo on Mad Men recently, so I knew I had to run right out and get it.  It was written in 1963 about a group of Vassar grads making their way in the world during the Great Depression.  I’m about halfway through and I’m really enjoying it.  It’s surprisingly provacative when one considers the publishing date.  I’ll be sure to give a full report when I’m finished.

Sweet Pea and I are making our way through the Nancy Drew series.  I think we’ve read 6 or 7 so far.  I’m going to write an entire blog about the world according to Nancy Drew but in the meantime suffice it to say things have changed since those innocent days of sleuthing in River Heights.

Happy Reading!!

2 Responses to “What I’ve been reading lately”

  1. Rhonda November 14, 2009 at 9:47 am #

    I also loved the Guernsay Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

    Have you read Peace Like a River by Leif Enger? It is one of the best books I have ever read. You will enjoy.

  2. Darla November 14, 2009 at 10:16 am #

    Can’t wait to start on your list. You need to read “The Help.”

Leave a Reply

