Start Spreading the News

10 Nov

A girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do, and sometimes, a girl’s gotta go shopping.

Especially if said girl will be in Manhattan in 22 DAYS (!!!) and has an obsession with being fashionable every moment that her feet are on the ground in that glorious city. 

She might need some new jeans…

57030JP4788SK_STW_dtl_v1_m56577569831984828

And a new top…

56980M4524F486_OLT_dt_v1_m56577569831991612

(Don’t worry Mom, I’ll be wearing a nice warm coat over it!)

She’ll probably have to have some slouch boots for daytime…

41wbw6Bvp0L__AA280_

And high-heeled boots for night…

10942-625966-d

And untold other accoutrements that every chic girl needs to see the City in style.

A friend of mine wrote today that writing is a confession of sin.  Well, today I must confess that I tend to overpack, especially for New York.  But not this year.  This year I’m turning over a new leaf.  ONE COAT.  That’s it.  It’s charcoal grey, so everything I’m bringing has to go with gray.  No browns.  No brown boots, no brown skullcaps, nada.  Solamente shades of greys, blacks, purples, blues, greens, fuschias, etc.  It doesn’t seem limiting on paper (er..screen) but I assure you it is.  This is truly monumental for me, and I’m bound and determined to make it happen.  Period.  That’s it.

Which is why I’m not showing you the adorable yellow sweater I picked up today, or my cool lace-up brown boots, or my orange STOPTHEMADNESS!!!  No brown.

Just grey.

Funny, my mood is grey too.  But not for long…

Can you hear it?  Ba-ba-badadadadah! Start spreading the news!!!

***Important disclaimer for my Hubs, who I’m quite sure is hyperventilating by this point.  All of the above items were purchased ON SALE at rock bottom prices.  There’s no need for panic.  Put the phone down.  No really, put it down.  You know you love me…don’t even try to deny it.

4 Responses to “Start Spreading the News”

  1. Darla November 11, 2009 at 10:32 am #

    I love the shirt and jeans and Caroline has very similar boots … which, of so convienantly fit me too!!

    I want to know how you post pics of just the item. Likes it’s floating. It’s very cool.

    Guess I need to go shopping. I’m going to NYC the second weekend in December! Bill, Caroline and I. 🙂

  2. Julie November 11, 2009 at 1:38 pm #

    Oh just pack it all!! Take the browns, blacks and shades of grey!! How fun to be heading out for a girls’ trip…you deserve it and should be able to pack all the crapola you can carry!! (: Have fun!

  3. meg November 11, 2009 at 9:26 pm #

    Funny… I’m wearing grey today too!
    Maybe I’ll choose a nice shade of purple for her royal highness’s transfer tomorrow. 🙂 LOVE all the finds! Makes me want to go shopping…. wait, Hubby did that for me after our terrible day Saturday… ask me what I got for Christmas, Anniversary, Birthday & Valentine’s Day!?

  4. Susan November 13, 2009 at 1:15 am #

    Thanks! I need more pressure before we hit the road. Are these the actual clothing items?

Leave a Reply

