Finding the Happy

6 Nov

Rather than go into detail about our sleepover failure tonight, I’m choosing to focus on some fun things.  In the midst of all my craziness and anxiety and fear and loathing, here are some things that really do make me happy.  (This list is going to have to count as writing today; it’s the best I can do.)

Mad Men – If you’re not watching Mad Men, I INSIST that you go rent the first two seasons, then catch up on this season.  We’re just about to the final episode.  The acting is superb and the styling is perfection.  I’m seriously hooked.

So You Think You Can Dance – I’m new to this, but I love it.  If you’ve never watched it, here’s an example.  This is a contemporary dance portraying the fearful (played by the girl) trying to overcome her fear (the guy).  You only have to watch the first 1:45. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bwu-YQ9ROpc&feature=fvw

New York City – my every-other-year girl’s trip to NYC is almost here.  I’m counting the days, making lists, obsessing over boots and scarves…I’ll definitely be writing more about this later in the month.

Corn Crack – One bag natural popcorn, one small bag of Fritos, one box of Corn Pops, and one bag of melted white chocolate chips.  Be careful.  We call it crack for a reason.

Sara Bareilles – faves are Gravity (live and studio versions), Between the Lines, and Undertow (only avail on youtube)

Christmas Music – It’s time!!!  Did y’all know Sting has a new winter album?  Sting-a-ling-a-ding-ding!!

Playing Free Cell on my iPhone – I’m so completely addicted. 

And…snuggling with Sweet Pea after a horrible evening.  She always comes back to me, and I to her.  May it always be so.

 

What makes you happy??

 

4 Responses to “Finding the Happy”

  1. Darla Baerg November 6, 2009 at 10:20 pm #

    Seeing you write again makes me happy.

    And the line … “may it always be so”.

    That made me happy too.

    I’d be happier if you invited me to New York but my happiness can wait. 🙂

    Love,
    D

  2. Barb November 8, 2009 at 7:42 pm #

    My dog Rudy makes me happy!

  3. Julie November 9, 2009 at 5:24 pm #

    Hmmmm…cool fall weather, gingerbread lattes from Starbucks, good hair days, the sound of my kids playing sweetly together, hot chocolate and whirly pop popcorn by the fire on a quilt, It’s A Wonderful Life, White Christmas, crunchy leaves, pumpkin pie, ahhhhh…I feel happy already!

  4. Susan November 13, 2009 at 1:39 am #

    Buying tee-ball equipment for my kids. Hoping that it won’t be as bad as the great soccer experiment!

Leave a Reply

