I just RAN!

7 May

So I’ve been running.  SERIOUSLY running.  This week I’ve logged between 4 and 6 miles a night.  I think it’s possible this makes me an actual distance runner. 

Now you may be thinking “Funny Girl, you so crazy!” but let me tell you something.  I love it.  I love it for the thinking time, the solitude, the sheer exercise, but most of all for a new little natural high brought on by my friends the endorphins.  I am NOT an athlete.  I’m in good shape, but I never played a sport (unless you count intramural softball) and I don’t exercise consistently.  Yep, I said it.  I don’t really exercise.  Until now. 

Have you experienced an endorphin high?  It’s quite fun.  And also QUITE addictive.  The other night I didn’t run because Hubs was going to be gone and I was completely blue.  I’m telling you…it’s good. 

Has all this talk of a legal, natural high made you intrigued?  Did you used to run but haven’t done it in a while?  Have you never run but now you suddenly want to?  Does just the mention of running make you break into hives?  Well, just for you, a little thing I like to call Funny Girl’s Tips for Getting Started.  (Aren’t I creative?)  (PS:  These are in no way intended to substitute for any kind of professional advice!!)

1.  Get good shoes.  Go to an actual running store, try on the shoes, run around the store.  It makes a HUGE difference.  I wear Asics that give extra support to my arches because I tend to supinate (my foot falls in toward the center) which is hard on my knees.

2.  Get good socks.  Hanes low tops aren’t going to cut it.  You need the good ones.  They’re expensive, but worth it.

3.  Get actual running shorts.  You can go out there in regular shorts, but the chaffing is NOT worth it.  (Remember when you’d go to Astroworld in the summer and get wet on a ride and then walk around like that and you sort of had to waddle but you didn’t want that cute boy you had that week’s crush on to think something was wrong so you just suffered until you got home 8 hours later?  I’m over chaffing.)  I like the new nike shorts with the underwear built in.  Again, not cheap, but worth it.  I noticed that Old Navy now has a similar pair and I’m planning on trying them soon.

4.  MUSIC.  Get an ipod, load it up.  My runs are all about the music…I couldn’t run without it.  I don’t have the fancy arm thing; I tuck my ipod into the little pocket in my shorts.  I’ll be glad to share my playlists, but it’s really subjective, so you’ve got to figure out what works for you. 

5.  NIKE+iPod = Motivation!!!  Nike sells a little device that plugs into your ipod and records your times/distances/etc.  There’s also a voice (you can choose a man OR woman – it swings both ways!) that tells you how far you’ve gone…it’s very satisfying.  You don’t have to wear Nike shoes; you can buy a separate device that straps onto your laces.  My sweet friend Barbara recently got me this little toy as a happy, and my running has only improved!!

6.  Don’t get discouraged!!  It takes a little while to get over the 1-2 mile hump, but once you do (and you’ll know when it happens) you’ll find yourself in the middle of mile 3, high as a kite, feeling better than you have in ages. 

If you’re a runner I’d love to hear what other little tips you have…what works, what doesn’t work, etc. 

Now GO.  RUN LIKE THE WIND!!!!!!

forrest-gump

9 Responses to “I just RAN!”

  1. Jen May 7, 2009 at 2:16 pm #

    Its great to here that you’re enjoying running so much! I fell in love with running in high school and even though we have a love hate relationship {running is not nice to me} we will never be apart again! Shoes make a huge difference! I wrote a post about shoes and running in general here. The only thing that I’m weird about is that I hate running with music. It wasn’t aloud in high school and I grew accustom to it. I can’t wait to hear about your journey!

    • kathrynsmoore May 7, 2009 at 2:40 pm #

      How much do you run now?

      • Jen May 7, 2009 at 2:43 pm #

        I was doing an easy 15-20 miles a week, but I’m getting back to that after my 2 weeks of resting because of an achilles injury 😦

  2. Donna May 10, 2009 at 8:13 pm #

    I can’t stop laughing at #3!

  3. Marinka May 16, 2009 at 9:05 pm #

    omg, that’s so great! And you totally had me until “shorts”. Isn’t there a running bhurka or something?

  4. The Introvert May 21, 2009 at 12:27 am #

    Don’t forget to keep your toenails trimmed and filed. Otherwise you’ll be bleeding right through those $9 socks.

  5. Allison May 21, 2009 at 1:40 pm #

    Hey! I left you something on my blog today 🙂

  6. Tracey May 26, 2009 at 11:27 am #

    Does that Nike thing work with the iPhone or just the iTouch?

  7. anymommy May 28, 2009 at 10:50 pm #

    You’re awesome and now I’m tired. From reading about running. Pathetic, I know.

Leave a Reply

