Mommy of the Year

16 Apr

I picked Sweet Pea up from school yesterday and almost immediately noticed that something was amiss.  She was unfocused and talking non-stop.  I checked her assignment book to see what homework hour was going to be like and I found a note from her teacher explaining that she hadn’t been on task all day, and as such, had three extra assignments to do at home.

Ugh. 

I sat down with her to start the first assignment and it was literally impossible for her to stay in her seat.  She was all over the place, and I was getting more and more frustrated.  It took a few minutes, but then it dawned on me…

Did I give her medicine this morning?  I couldn’t remember doing it…I walked through the morning routine in my head and I couldn’t remember giving it to her.  I called Hubs and guess what?  He didn’t give it to her either.

Yep.  We sent our child out the door without the ONE THING she needs to get through the day successfully.  Imagine sending a diabetic child to school without their insulin.  That’s basically what we did.

I’m pretty sure that sealed my place as Mommy of the Year.

9 Responses to “Mommy of the Year”

  1. Spring April 16, 2009 at 11:55 am #

    Oh how I hear you Katy. Recently realized that Desta was throwing away rather than taking her meds. Yep. Luckily we caught it right away.

    Meds make such a huge difference, don’t that? We have a big sign on the door to the garage that says MEDS. Works for us.

  2. Tracey April 16, 2009 at 12:40 pm #

    I’m glad it was you just didn’t give them to her and not her body chemistry not reacting favorably! Hopefully Sweet Pea will have a better end of the week.

  3. Insta-Mom April 16, 2009 at 2:02 pm #

    If that’s all it takes, then you and I are in the running together. Because we have done that before, too.

  4. meg April 16, 2009 at 5:44 pm #

    Don’t feel bad Katy… I’ve been there, too.. although if I miss one its likely to be the after school dose. We have pill boxes filled with each child’s meds for different times of the day, so we can usually detect fairly easily if we’ve missed a dose. We switched to a patch for Donovan for his clonidine, which has been awesome (and more even dosing through-out the day, too), but he takes other things, too so it doesn’t let us completely off the hook.
    Forgive yourself and move on to the next day. 🙂

  5. Barb April 16, 2009 at 6:55 pm #

    Oh I have done that too. I have a better routine now to help me remember, which includes an alarm set on my phone, but even with that I have forgotten twice (ugh). Don’t worry about it!

  6. anymommy April 16, 2009 at 10:11 pm #

    We all miss important things sometimes. Don’t judge yourself! I can’t imagine having to remember medicine every morning. I’ve even missed doses when the kids are on antibiotics!

  7. Julie April 19, 2009 at 5:05 pm #

    Hey, if we were perfect we would have no need for a perfect God. I know that sounds kind of “religiousy”, but it is such a good reminder for me so many times! Abigail is blessed to have you!

  8. Patrick April 21, 2009 at 1:30 am #

    This happens to the best of us. You are still Mom of the Year! When I was a teacher, I was so in tune with my students that I knew right away when they missed a dosage. I could also see it in my kids when I moved into administration. I’m upset with the teacher that did not pick up on this and therefore did not call you. Had you known, you could have caught it mid-morning. I would know it right away and make sure the child did not suffer because of a missed dosage. I always called to give my parents a chance to come to school. Some also left a dose or two with the nurse so she could administer it on the mornings when parents forgot letting the parents stay at work or go about their day. All we needed was a phone call from the parent to give us permission (with a note on file). It’s April! Surely the teacher knew. Why a teacher allowed her to get behind on assignments because she did not pick up the phone because she did not notice is beyond me. OK – the former teacher in me is coming down off of my box.

  9. Amy Seay May 6, 2009 at 11:25 am #

    From one mom of a child who is on constant meds to another… BEEN THERE! By the way, I have been out of the blog world for a while and am trying to catch up with your life. I’m living vicariously through you and loving reading about the musicals! B and I are coming down to your town in Novemeber for the 1/2 marathon. Hopefully I won’t die, but if I do, I’ll be in Texas:) Your running it with us by the way!

Leave a Reply

