Tuesday Night at the Palace Lanes

15 Apr

I never went bowling before I got married, and neither did Hubs.  It was something we decided we just wanted to do together, after we were married.  Of course as soon as the wedding was over we hit the local bowling alley all the time…frame after frame, game after game.

And then we just sorta lost our initial interest in it.  You know how it is, something else comes up and you just don’t feel like heading down to the bowling alley AGAIN.  Maybe tomorrow night. 

I’d always heard that women get a renewed interest in bowling in their 30’s, but I didn’t really believe it would happen to me.  I mean, I was never the girl with my own shoes and ball and bag and stuff.  I just showed up, bowled my game, and went home.  Fun, yes, but no big deal. 

Until now.

A few months ago my friend Vaniqua invited us to join the Tuesday Night Bowling Club.  Now, lest you think there’s some kind of hanky-panky going on, this was simply a vow to bowl every Tuesday night.  I was sort of wishy-washy; I mean, do you really want this kind of thing clogging up the calendar?  But I agreed, mostly due to peer pressure and a vague feeling of competition with my girlfriends.

I came home and told Hubs about it…he was game, of course.  I mean, what man doesn’t like a midweek trip to the local Palace Lanes?  Little did he know…because for the love of all that is good in the world, I suddenly LOVE me some bowling.  I’m begging Hubs to take me for a game every night.  And some mornings.  And let’s not forget the occasional afternoon!  I’ve got  the shoes and the ball and the bag.  I want to play video games in the arcade first, and a round of pool afterwards! 

And I’m bowling 300 every time.  😉

3 Responses to “Tuesday Night at the Palace Lanes”

  1. Tracey April 15, 2009 at 1:56 pm #

    So glad you’re back!! I just can’t make any other comments other than Woohoo Bowling 🙂

  2. Barb April 15, 2009 at 4:26 pm #

    Wowzers!

  3. DS April 15, 2009 at 7:16 pm #

    This seems just a tad tardy for an April fools joke.

Leave a Reply

