Opening Night

20 Mar

Tonight.  The show’s tonight.   The show’s tonight!  I’ve got to do this.  I don’t want to do it.  This was a bad idea.  I’m scared.  I’m nervous.  I want to cry and throw up.  I’m not going to remember my lines – yes you will – no I won’t…I’m going to screw up the big number because I’m not really sexy and whoever thought this was a good idea is sadly mistaken…trust what they’re telling you…they said it’s fine, they said it’s good!  Trust them.  What if I don’t make my quick change?  That little girl who’s helping me doesn’t know what she’s doing.  I’m going to get caught in the middle of the change and not make it onstage.  I have to remember to speak up in that kitchen scene…who ever thought I’d get a note about increasing my volume?  I can do this.  No I can’t.  My voice is going to go out.  I’m going to reach for one of those notes and even though it’s been there every single night it will be gone tonight.  Fear…so much fear.  Where is my confidence?  Come back!  Don’t forget to tuck your skirt with your right hand before the knife throwing or you’ll ruin the gag.  HE was the one SHE swam the channel for…get it right!  Sid, we need to talk.  You’re wonderful and I love you, but we’re in for a lot of trouble.  There’s something gonna come between us.  Listen to me. What is so hard about those damn lines?  Breathe.  I want it to be perfect.  Is that so much to ask?  My heart is pounding.  Breathe.  I can do this.  I’m ready.  I’ve rehearsed until I can’t anymore.  Breathe.  It’s time.  I can do this.  Breathe.  I can do this.

I can do this.

I can do this.

img_1315

9 Responses to “Opening Night”

  1. Jen March 20, 2009 at 1:47 pm #

    Good luck!

  2. Barb March 20, 2009 at 2:51 pm #

    You can do this! Break a leg…

  3. Issa March 20, 2009 at 3:32 pm #

    You can do it. You will be phenomenal. 🙂

  4. Spring March 20, 2009 at 8:51 pm #

    Enjoy every second, glamorous girl 🙂

  5. Erin March 23, 2009 at 6:34 am #

    So, what happened?!?! How did it go?

  6. Darla March 23, 2009 at 9:55 am #

    can’t wait to hear how it went! You look stunning!

  7. Patrick March 23, 2009 at 3:09 pm #

    I’m sorry I’m just now reading this or I would have told you BEFORE the show how great you were going to be. Just remember, the audience does not know we’ve made a mistake until we tell them with our reaction. You are a great actress and I’ve seen you pull miricles and cover for others. I can’t wait to hear how right I am with your recap of opening night!

  8. Barb March 23, 2009 at 4:39 pm #

    I can’t vouch for opening night, but the second night was fabulous! Love ya Babe!

  9. anymommy March 26, 2009 at 10:30 pm #

    Ahhhhh! I’m so late to say you look absolutely fabulous. I hope it was perfection.

Leave a Reply

