More Answers to Your Burning Questions…

17 Mar

Good Morning, Blogland!! 

I’m up and at ’em and ready to plow through this busy day and get back to work tonight.  We had a really good rehearsal last night, and, wait for it…I did not end up naked onstage!!!  Victory kick!!  They are still tweaking my costumes, and I’ll get a new dress tonight for one of the numbers in the first act, but all in all it was pretty smooth.  Too smooth, maybe.  At some point all hell’s gonna break loose…I’ve just got to be ready for it.

We took some pics last night, so I’m finally able to give you a little preview of my wig.  As I look at the pic I notice that the bangs aren’t exactly right – I’ll have more bangs.  The dress I’m wearing is my smock – all the girls have one to wear when we are working in the sewing shop.  The giant red pin is my union pin…it has my initials “BW” on it…cute, right?  Also I’ll be wearing red shoes.  (Disclaimer:  I’m not wearing stage makeup, and the other two girls don’t have their hair done for the show.  If that matters to you.)

 img_1299crop

Here’s a cast pic.  It’s a little blurry, but you get the gist of the color scheme for the opening of the show.

img_1293

 

Now for a couple of Q&A’s:

Spring says:  I do have another question: if you could play any role, what would it be and why?

There are many, many roles that I’m dying to play, but if I could only be in one more show?  I think it would have to be Fantine in Les Miserables.  She dies early in the first act, and doesn’t come back until the last few minutes of the show, but that whole show is so phenomenal, and just the chance to really belt a ballad that I love…I think that’s my dream role.  Others that would be fun include Maria in Sound of Music, Marian in The Music Man, Nancy in Oliver, and Marmee in Little Women.  And then there’s Kathy in The Last Five Years.  This is a two-person off-Broadway show that illustrates the life of a couple over five years from when they meet through their marriage and ultimately their divorce.  It is extremely heavy, but it would be an incredible experience, and I would love to do it.  It is vocally challenging, and the acting required would be seriously intense.  That’s one I think about all the time…

 Erin asks:  What’s your favorite role that you’ve played?

Until now my favorite role has always been Anna in The King and I.  I loved playing her…wearing her dresses, speaking in a British accent, finding ways to fall in love with someone without ever having anything more physical than a single dance…

I have to say Miss Babe Williams is giving Anna a run for her money.  The book for this musical is well-written, and it supports a ton of character development through the play.  The script itself gives plenty of clues as to who she is, and I’m finding more and more ways to express that with each rehearsal.  It’s those nuances that I love…that and the feeling of being lost in another world for a few minutes at a time.  That’s how I know I’m really acting (or NOT acting) – I finish a scene and I don’t really remember it.  That’s the goal, every time.  It’s hard to describe that feeling, but you finally quit thinking about every little thing and just DO it. 

Happy St. Patrick’s Day!!!

4 Responses to “More Answers to Your Burning Questions…”

  1. Allison March 17, 2009 at 11:06 am #

    You look great!! That looks like such a fun play – just from the costumes 🙂

    I’ve always wanted to be Liesl or Brigitta from S.O.M. 🙂

  2. Spring March 17, 2009 at 3:27 pm #

    This is so cool! Love the wig. Break a leg 🙂

  3. jessica March 17, 2009 at 5:01 pm #

    I can’t remember the last time I put on a costume. I did stand up for many years and that surely did not involve getting dressed in anything more than jeans and a sweater and in commercials, well, you don’t anything much different than that.

    You sound like you are having such a blast.

  4. Patrick March 19, 2009 at 12:15 am #

    I can’t wait to see this show. The Broadway touring company of TPG is in Dallas now and I refuse to see it because I know yours will be better. My dream role – Colehouse Walker, Jr. in Ragtime. Maybe one day … with you as Mother (It’s a great emotional and belting role with a great arc as well).

Leave a Reply

