Hell Week

16 Mar

Usually the final week of rehearsals leading up to opening a show is called Hell Week.  The rehearsals are long, the stress is high…and it can be quite hellish.  But not this time.  Y’all, I am having such a blast!!!!  I spend all day just fidgeting and killing time until I can get to the theater.  I am working with an amazing cast, and it is more fun than I’ve had in a LONG time.

We finally saw the costumes last night…tonight is our first dress rehearsal.  My costumes are really neat: vintage through and through.  I am anticipating that being in those clothes will add a new element to my character, and I’m looking forward to it.  On the other hand, tonight comes with  a whole lot of stress, as there will be quick changes that don’t get made in time and I’ll be onstage half-dressed while we figure it out.  Lots of fun.

I’ll also be wigged tonight.  That’s going to be interesting, because right now my wig seems a little “stiff” and I’ve got to play this role confident and sexy, so I’m really going to have to get past what I see in the mirror.   And hopefully my opposite won’t laugh his head off when he sees it!!

As far as my character goes, I feel like I’m at about 80% of where I need to be by Friday.  I need to keep digging deeper, especially in the “simple” scenes where not much happens.  I need to focus and find the nuances that I haven’t found yet.  That intimidates me, because I’m so afraid of either not finding something or finding too much.  There’s a fine middle ground when you know you’ve got it, but it’s just tricky to find it sometimes. 

I’ll try to post some costume pics later this week.  Wish me luck!!

5 Responses to “Hell Week”

  1. Darla March 16, 2009 at 5:11 pm #

    Break a leg girl!!! Good luck!!!

  2. Barb March 16, 2009 at 5:22 pm #

    Break a leg! See ya Friday night!!

  3. anymommy March 16, 2009 at 11:25 pm #

    I can not wait to see the pictures. Break a leg. May you see nothing but standing ovations!

  4. Erin March 17, 2009 at 6:43 am #

    Ah hell week! How I miss those weeks!! I’ll be going through mine about 2 weeks from today and I have a feeling it will be very hellish – not b/c the cast isn’t phenomenal and the director rocks, but b/c I haven’t had a role this big in years! I’m so excited for you and I’m glad you’re getting the attention you deserve – I hope to come see it once LW closes. What are the dates again?

  5. Patrick March 19, 2009 at 12:08 am #

    Break a leg! I will be there, but I’m not sure what weekend at this time. I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

