Answers to Your Burning Questions

9 Mar

Well, it seems I’m going to be a once-a-week blogger for at least a little while longer.  We have spring break this week, so my computer time will be severely limited.  (Of course, Sweet Pea didn’t wake me up this morning and I slept past NOON, so I’m not complaining!)

I’m awfully glad y’all sent me some questions, as now my “block” is so bad I hardly even talk during the day.  But I’m working, no doubt about that. 

(Editor’s note:  my anal-retentive side is going bananas over the fact that I couldn’t exactly match the green fontof my answers to my blog’s color.  So please imagine it in the more puke-green rather than this “springy” green I’ve been given.  Speaking of spring…)

Spring asks:

1. What’s the rehearsal schedule like?  We rehearse Sunday through Thursday from 7-10, although not everyone has been called for every rehearsal.  I’ve been there about 3-4 nights a week.  This week that will change to Sun-Fri from 7-11.  Next week it’s every night until we finish…probably midnight or later.  


2. How long does it take you to learn your lines?  Well, mine still aren’t memorized, so apparently a while!  🙂  I did children’s theatre in Houston where we did a different show every week, so I had to learn a new script every week.  I got VERY good at ad-libbing, but unfortunately that’s a very bad habit.  I need to be able to say each line exactly as it’s written.  I work on them at home, and then we try to run lines before rehearsal just to refresh them.  I’m almost there…

3. Do you hang out with the other people in the production or just see them at rehearsals?  Since I’m away from home so much during rehearsals, I try not to go out every night after we’re done.  It’s hard, because I adore these people and want to get to know them away from the theater.  But I need to be home, too.  So I try to limit it for that reason.  If I was single I would definitely be hanging out with them. They are fabulous!!  Not a bad seed in the whole bunch.
 
 4. How long will the show run?  This show will run for 6 weekends (15 performances).  It is the longest run I’ve ever done.  It will be interesting to see how the show changes over that period of time.  And how my voice holds out!
 
 5. If you couldn’t be in the production, what behind-the-scenes gig would you want?  Dresser.  I have always loved my dressers…they are critical to my job.  There are a couple of changes in this show that will be in the 20-30 second range, and that can’t be done alone.  I completely depend on them to get that accomplished, and to be my mirror, since I can’t see how I look.
 
6.  How do you find out about upcoming shows and do you have to audition (or does everybody already know you)?  It’s a lot of networking and word-of -mouth, although there is a website here that lists all the auditions going on at any given time.  I have always auditioned…I would feel too “diva” if I didn’t audition for a role.  This process requires a TON of patience.  Here’s a little story:  Before we moved to San Antonio, I drove over from Houston for the season auditions at the theater I am working with now.  I had a great audition, and I thought I had developed a decent repoire with the director.  (At least enough to get a callback).  Well, time passed and I never heard anything.  In the meantime I got involved in another project and met the girl who is our choreographer.  I heard that the callbacks had happened already.  I was VERY disappointed.  But I just waited it out.  Turns out the director had lost a bunch of resumes, and mine was one of the ones that got lost.  So I lost a whole year of performing.  But I went back last summer for this year’s season audition.  He apologized for the mishap, and treated me very kindly at the audition.  Long story short, now I’m playing the lead in The Pajama Game.  So although I was really bummed about missing last season’s shows, it was worth it to wait the year.  
Darla asks:
What made you give up sugar? Tell me more…like you’re talking NONE? None at all?  I have found that giving up sugar is the fastest way for me to lose weight.  It’s very simple; I read the label and if it has 0 grams of sugar, I eat it.  There are plenty of sugar-free products out there that satisfy my cravings.  It’s TERRIBLE the first week, but after that I start to see the results and I get plenty of positive reinforcement from the scale.  I also find that everything else tastes a whole lot better without all the sugar clouding my taste buds.  I’m not a nazi; I had a glass of champagne the other day, and I had a piece of cake for my girlfriend’s birthday.  But in general:  no sugar.

Vaniqua asks:

What’s the first sugar you’re going to eat?  Well, I’m craving pancakes right now.  And also we have these m&m’s lying around from a party this weekend, so that’s tempting.  And a bag of sour balls was definitely calling my name from the candy aisle, but I said NO!  (It might have been audible, I’m not sure.)  And I’d like to eat a whole basket of chips while sipping on a sangria margarita waiting on my cheese enchiladas…that’s probably what I want the most.  Thanks a lot, Van.  Now you’ve made it hard on me!

Allison asks:

When do we get to see a pic of you in the red wig?   I have no idea when dress rehearsals officially start…maybe next Monday??  I talked to the costumer yesterday and I’m really excited about my costumes.  They’ve found a ton of vintage stuff for me, including a bullet bra!  I’m gonna be all pointy boobs – love it!!  And I get to wear red shoes for the whole show.  That’s every girl’s dream!  I’ll definitely post pics as I have them.

Thanks for the questions…keep ’em coming… it gives me a blog topic.  🙂

7 Responses to “Answers to Your Burning Questions”

  1. Spring March 9, 2009 at 2:30 pm #

    This is fascinating. I do have another question: if you could play any role, what would it be and why?

  2. Allison March 9, 2009 at 2:31 pm #

    Bullet bra!!! My, my! Sounds like fun 😉

  3. Darla March 9, 2009 at 2:39 pm #

    WAIT!!! Pancakes have sugar?!! I’m devastated. And you were just mentioning the chips and enchiladas, right?!? No sugar in those babies!? Please tell me no!

    Apparently I have no idea what I’m eating…and it shows!!

    Down with sugar!

  4. Barb March 9, 2009 at 5:43 pm #

    Happy Spring Break! I miss Texas!

  5. Erin March 10, 2009 at 9:46 am #

    Here are some questions: what’s your favorite role that you’ve played? What are your top 5 favorite shows that you’ve done and why? Who’s been your favorite co-star? What are your top 5 favorite shows in general (whether or not you’ve done them)?

  6. Patrick March 10, 2009 at 10:35 am #

    I miss the theater so much. Thanks for taking me back! Break a leg. I’ll let you know the weekend I’m coming. It might be that final weekend (April 24, 25, and/or 26).

    I understand that “fastest way for me to lose weight” thing. You have to find out what works for your body. You know mine is 1200 calories a day and NO exercise. I lose about .75 pounds a day. It’s weird but that is mine. I can really get stuffed with the right 1200 calories. I’m almost back in my skinny jeans that we bought on one of our TKAI mall trips.

  7. Jessica Bern March 11, 2009 at 1:39 am #

    When I used to do one woman shows in NY, my absolute favorite thing in the world was to go out afterwards with my director and my friends and their friends that had been there in the audience. You show much better discipline than I did that is for sure

Leave a Reply

