Blocked

4 Mar

I’m still totally living in my head, so I apologize for the sparse blogging I’ve been doing.  Every time I think I’ve got a topic, a little voice in my head says “no, you can’t write about that” and shuts it down.  Let’s hope all the angst in my head makes it’s appearance in some sort of fabulous way on stage, ’cause it’s driving me crazy!!

Here are some little tidbits that I can share:

I’ve lost 10 pounds.  This is a good thing…no more muffin tops!!  I haven’t had sugar since the weekend before Valentine’s.  And I’ll disclose a dirty secret:  I go to Abercrombie to try on jeans just to see what size I can squeeze into.  I don’t buy them, but  I get a serious high every time I go down a size.  Sick, right?

I got my eyebrows SERIOUSLY thinned out.  I have really thick eyebrows, which doesn’t lend itself to a fifties look very easily.  So I let her take a good three rows yesterday.  It’s weird, but I like it. 

I’m going to be a redhead for the show.  I tried on the wig yesterday and it’s cute.  Very fifties.  I also heard that all of my costumes are shades of red, white, or blue, since I’m the “all-American girl.”  I also understand that the structure of my costumes will be harder in the beginning and soften throughout the show, as a further representation of the softening I do as a character.  LOVE THAT!!

We are starting to run the show, which is always an extremely painful process the first few times.  It’s slow and tedious, and I find it hard to stay focused with all the stopping and starting.  I’d sort of like to just escape into my head (and my character) for the entire three hours, but there’s so much down time that I’d be seen as a complete snob if I wasn’t socializing at least a little bit.  As we get more fluid I’ll stay in character for longer periods of time.  (I generally don’t stay in character when I’m not onstage, but I do at least stay in that frame of mind.)

I’d love to answer behind-the-scenes questions if you have some, so hit me!!

Here are a couple of pics from rehearsal.  Enjoy!

pajama-game-25

 

pajama-game-23

7 Responses to “Blocked”

  1. Allison March 4, 2009 at 11:46 am #

    When do we get to see a pic of you in the red wig? 🙂

  2. Spring March 4, 2009 at 1:20 pm #

    Congrats on losing 10 pounds!

    Questions:
    1. What’s the rehearsal schedule like?
    2. How long does it take you to learn your lines?
    3. Do you hang out with the other people in the production or just see them at rehearsals?
    4. How long will the show run?
    5. If you couldn’t be in the production, what behind-the-scenes gig would you want?
    6. How do you find out about upcoming shows and do you have to audition (or does everybody already know you)?

  3. Darla March 4, 2009 at 1:21 pm #

    Wow. You are S-K-I-N-N-Y! What made you give up sugar? Tell me more…like you’re talking NONE? None at all? My new goal is to lose 10 pounds before I come see you in your show. And I still won’t like the size of my jeans.

  4. Heather of the EO March 4, 2009 at 2:17 pm #

    I want to say “no more muffin top” really badly.

  5. Barb March 5, 2009 at 5:32 pm #

    You look awesome! Can’t wait for the show!

  6. Vaniqua March 7, 2009 at 12:30 am #

    What’s the first form of sugar that you’ll taste after the show?

  7. anymommy March 8, 2009 at 11:06 pm #

    You are adorable. I can’t wait to see the full dress rehearsal pictures.

Leave a Reply

