Just the two of us

25 Feb

I have absolutely loved reading all your responses to the vacation question.  If you didn’t get a chance to read everyone’s comments, please do.  You are a very smart group, and I am privileged to have you as friends!!

My dad emailed his comment to me privately, and I asked his permission to reprint it here.  I think it really hits the nail on the head.

“Parenting, while it may involve several decades to achieve “leave father and mother and cleave to his wife” or other independence, is designed to be temporary. Marriage, on the other hand is designed to be permanent.  Invest in the lifelong task first, and the parenting will be a mutually shared responsibility that is rewarding …most of the time.”

Now I don’t know about the “mutually-shared responsiblity that is rewarding” part…I’m not reaping many rewards in the parenting department these days.  But somehow I have to separate who we are as married partners from who we are as parents.  I think I have to find  rewards in the marriage, and perhaps traveling together for more than a couple of days would be a great start to that process.

Here’s to us…the TWO of us. 

We can make it if we try.

5 Responses to “Just the two of us”

  1. Spring February 26, 2009 at 1:10 pm #

    Wow. Just wow. Your dad sounds like a great dad, a sensitive person, and I imagine, a wonderful husband.

  2. Paul February 26, 2009 at 8:06 pm #

    First, i love and miss your Dad. Second, take a vacation from your stressors, all of them. We had parents come while we took a cruise. Though it was our 10th anniversary, people thought we were on our honeymoon. We really enjoyed ourselves and came back ready to tackle the issues again.

  3. jessica February 27, 2009 at 2:17 am #

    Your dad is a very wise man. I just wish the younger generation would give their grandparents the time of day.

  4. anymommy March 1, 2009 at 10:05 pm #

    Go Dad! Happy travels.

  5. Patrick March 2, 2009 at 4:48 am #

    Pops is right. Good marriages lead to great parents. The relationship between you and Lane will lead to the parenting that the 2 of you do for Sweet Pea. Don’t “neglect” the marriage for the family. The strong marriage will keep the family strong and together. In my line of work, I saw a lot of parents stay together for the kids. I always thought that they should have worked on themselves and they would not have been in that position. Remember your marriage is forever. You parenting of Sweet Pea be “over” in around 10 years. Take the time to be with just you and Lane. You’ll come back renewed to continue your great work with Sweet Pea.

Leave a Reply

