Say Cheese!

21 Feb

I don’t think I told y’all about the photo shoot.  (If I did, well, that’s just more proof that my memory is going and I’m getting old.)  Two weeks ago I got a call for a photo shoot for the Pajama Game poster.  I was told to come in make-up, and that I’d be wearing a men’s pajama top and heels (Great…fake smile).  First I panicked, then I called my sister-in-law (who works in print advertising in LA) for some tips on making my legs look great in three days.  She recommended the spray-on pantyhose and I went straight to the store for a can of miracles.  So when the day came, I sprayed on my legs (that stuff actually works!), did my fifties make-up, found a wig, put on the pajama top, and headed to the stage to have the picture taken. 

Meanwhile, the rest of the cast was already onstage in a music rehearsal.  We’ve known each other exactly four days.  And I have to walk in wearing nothing but a pajama top and heels…AWKWARD! 

The director  took a bunch of pictures of me, and some with my leading man as well.  I felt like I was naked…the top would start to droop in the front so I’d reach around and yank it from the back which gave the everybody a great view of the rest of my business.  It was good times.  I survived, but getting my picture taken is NOT my favorite.

The final poster was in my inbox last night.  I’m going to tell you straight up I have never had my picture on a poster before, and it is REALLY weird.  When you’re performing you’re not watching yourself, but seeing yourself on film is a whole different ballgame.  There’s a disconnect…it’s hard for me to believe that’s actually me.  Very surreal.  And it definitely adds the pressure!! 

So I’m going to let y’all see it, not because I’m bragging or proud, but because you’re all part of this whole process now, and I don’t want to leave you out.  Y’all are my secret cheerleaders…the voices of encouragement in my ear when I’m losing confidence.  And I love you for it!!

pg_poster21

9 Responses to “Say Cheese!”

  1. jane February 21, 2009 at 5:34 pm #

    You go girlllll….this looks fab!

  2. Darla February 21, 2009 at 6:19 pm #

    Wow! That is awesome. You are the big time. Watch the “ritards” and you’ll do great! HAAHAHA!

  3. Barb February 21, 2009 at 8:26 pm #

    Love it!! Can’t wait to see you!

  4. Melinda February 21, 2009 at 10:06 pm #

    Wow! You’re famous now! Great poster.

  5. Allison February 22, 2009 at 3:51 am #

    hot momma!! I’m impressed!

  6. Spring February 22, 2009 at 1:23 pm #

    A) GREAT GAMS!
    B) But it’s not you in the photo, right? It’s your character? Unless I am confused (you’re not walking around in that makeup every day, right?)
    C) And finally, I think, dear Katy, you underestimate your hot-i-tude.

    Sending you love you don’t need ’cause you look FAB…Spring

  7. Erin February 23, 2009 at 7:55 am #

    I love, love, LOVE that picture! It’s great and you look absolutely fantastic!! HOT!

  8. Patrick February 23, 2009 at 1:54 pm #

    You look fantastic! We cannot wait to see the show! See if you can get me a poster for my theater room. It’s a dream of mine but I’m working on a room for theater and scrapbooking. I know that’s sound totally gay but it will double as my office. That’s a great poster and it would be a great additon to the room.

  9. anymommy February 24, 2009 at 10:12 pm #

    Wow! You look gorgeous and adorable all at the same time. If a picture of me ever turned out that well, I’d sure as hell post it every where 😉 I’m so glad you posted it.

Leave a Reply

