Single Parenting with Dick and Jane

9 Feb

I grew up with a single parent – my dad.  He’s INCREDIBLE and later went on to write a book called “Single Parenting with Dick and Jane”.  I must admit I never read it.  (Is that terrible?)  But I’m curious if the chapters were titled anything like this:

Chapter One:  Cereal for Dinner (Last night Cocoa Puffs, tonight Lucky Charms)

Chapter Two:  Homework…I’ll do all the work if you’ll just write the answers

Chapter Three:  Forget bedtime stories; Crawl in my bed and we’ll watch some TV

Chapter Four:  I have a meeting, so I’m going to schlep you off to the neighbor’s for the fifth time this week.  Maybe they’ll feed you.

Chapter Five:  This house is a PIT, and I just don’t care

 Hubs is out of town AGAIN and I’m single parenting for the second week in a row.  May I just say HUGE PROPS to those of you reading this blog who are actual single parents.  The fact that you do this job 24 hours a day without a partner is amazing to me.  Because I suck at it.  We would never eat, we’d never get anywhere on time, we’d never get anything done if it weren’t for Hubs keeping us on track. 

So SHOUT OUT to you girls flying solo.  You ROCK.

(Editor’s note:  I’m not sure what’s with the ALL CAPS today…apparently my fingers felt these words warrented being SHOUTED AT YOU.  My apologies.)

4 Responses to “Single Parenting with Dick and Jane”

  1. Issa February 10, 2009 at 2:21 pm #

    My mom did it for years and some days I wonder how. Cereal for dinner a lot probably. 🙂

  2. jane February 10, 2009 at 8:24 pm #

    I thought breakfast for dinner was a reward at my house growing up – do you think I was being tricked? LOL

  3. mideastmom February 11, 2009 at 3:03 pm #

    I had totally forgotten he wrote that book. Makes me want to read it just out of curiosity. Wonder if my parents have a copy…

  4. Donna February 11, 2009 at 6:07 pm #

    First I did not know your dad wrote a book, I will have to look it up. Also I agree on the props to those who single parent. My mom did it and although she wasn’t perfect she must have done something right since Vicki and I are both decent adults (atleast in my opinion). I hate just having 2-3 nights without help from Rob, I can’t imagine multiple children and being a single parent.

Leave a Reply

