Opinion, please

4 Feb

Okay, people, I need your honest opinion about something.  I suspect there are going to be a variety of responses, so don’t be afraid to voice your personal views.

I want to know how you’d feel if you took your elementary-age child to a “family-friendly” musical and the last song is a VERY catchy tune with the phrase “hell of a” repeated throughout.

Does your family consider hell a “bad” word?

Would this bother you?  How much?

Is there an age for your kids that it would no longer bother you?

Feedback, people.  I want feedback.

11 Responses to “Opinion, please”

  1. Darla February 4, 2009 at 5:19 pm #

    hum….we do consider it a bad word when it is not used in it’s proper context.

    What is the musical? I mean, of course, it’s a personal decision. If I went I would explain that it is not considered appropriate in our home.

    Why isn’t anything REALLY family friendly anymore?!?

  2. Rebekah Baldridge February 4, 2009 at 6:09 pm #

    Personally I think anything that causes you to raise your eyebrows or embarrasses you in a public scenerio is most likely ‘over-the-line’ for you/your kids/family . You are
    the best identifier of when your comfort level is breached. Obviously there will be different bounderies for different people. In so saying, I agree with the other comment – I think our society has become de-sensitized to a great degree. Warning: excuse the following unpolitically correct comment!… We have become liberal americans in the sense that we tend to close our eyes, ears and turn our heads instead of putting our foot down and taking a stand. So put your foot down if it’s morally important to you and stand up for the values you choose for your family! -They are the only family you have and you only get one chance to raise them the way you see fit – the world will take over soon enough. I say give them a great foundation first so they can make good decisions later.

  3. Barb February 4, 2009 at 6:22 pm #

    I have explained to my kids that those words are not “bad” words, but they are adult words. I want my kids to understand why they are not to say those words as well as to not judge an adult who they might hear say it. Furthermore, I have explained that adults use those words when they are really serious about something (or sometimes really angry) in order to send the message that they mean business. When the words are overused, then they lose their seriousness.

    So to answer your question, I would warn my kids ahead of time that they are going to hear this phrase, and they should not be repeating it or face the consequences. Also, the rest of the musical would have to be REALLY worth it in order to endure the repeated offensive phrase.

    Please tell us what is the musical??

  4. Issa February 4, 2009 at 6:52 pm #

    Hmmmm in my extended family, yes. In my family, nah. It doesn’t bother me. Although I don’t generally let my kids say it. We say, H E Double Hockey Sticks, which they think is hilarious. Which musical was it?

    I will say though, my kids can say a word if it’s in a song….if the song is on and they are singing it. If I made a big deal out of that, I’d always have to correct them.

  5. WG February 4, 2009 at 7:15 pm #

    I remember singing along to the Annie OBC soundtrack in the car. In the song NYC, Daddy Warbucks sings something about, “and DAMN! I come! Alive!” I knew that I was only allowed to use that word in those circumstances. So I say go for it. Musicals are awesome, and she may not even pick up on the word unless you do listen to the soundtrack again and again.

  6. Julie February 4, 2009 at 8:58 pm #

    I second Rebekah’s comments above. It makes me sad that “family friendly” movies, music etc. seems to now mean that there are simply fewer objectionable things in them than “non-family friendly” media. I know am over-the-top careful on what we watch and listen to around here…I figure there’s plenty of time later for learning about making good personal choices. For now, we just try really hard to stick with things that really are fun for the whole family and not something I have to censor out parts of when watching/listening with the little ears!

  7. Spring February 5, 2009 at 8:38 pm #

    If it was advertised as family friendly and I took the kids there purposely believing it to be family friendly, I wouldn’t like the language. I don’t let my kids use dang, darn, or hell, although I know they hear that and more at school.

  8. Jessica Bern February 6, 2009 at 12:49 am #

    No. In my opinion, it’s totally innocuous but that is me. Me, who curses like a sailor so I guess it is all relative. I try not to do it in front of my kid but I’m not perfect and she seems to be very well behaved, happy and hasn’t yet uttered a bad word.

  9. Vaniqua February 6, 2009 at 7:03 pm #

    Wouldn’t worry about it unless she starts using the phrase on a consistent basis. Don’t you remember “The Devil Went Down to Georgia.” “I’ve told you once you son of a __________, I’m the best there’s ever been.” As a kid, I heard the word & knew not to say it out loud. Although, I still giggle when I hear the song.

  10. anymommy February 6, 2009 at 11:04 pm #

    Wouldn’t bother me at all. But, I struggle with my own language, so I probably set the bar way too low.

  11. The Introvert February 15, 2009 at 2:14 pm #

    Personally, I don’t understand why people recoil in horror when you say “hell”. It is not a bad word. It’s in the Bible multiple times. I understand not wanting your child to make it a part of their vocabulary, but I can think of a lot worse words for them to hear.

Leave a Reply

