I can’t remember where I left my memory

3 Feb

Something is happening to me.  I’ve heard it’s happening to all of us, but that doesn’t really make me feel any better.

I’m losing my mind.

It’s terrible.

Hubs and I joke that I can’t remember what I had for breakfast, so please don’t expect me to remember important things, like what I paid $217 for on the Visa last week.  (Well, I joke.  Hubs isn’t really laughing.)

Seriously.  I can’t remember ANYTHING.  I used to deny that people had told me stuff.  You know, “I never heard you say that.”  But now, I can’t deny it.  I have to say “you probably told me but since my God-given brain no longer works I have forgotten it so can you tell me again and this time I promise to write it down? Thanks.”

I can go to the store and get home with everything but the ONE thing I went to the store to get.  I have the green bags in my car, but I forget to take them into the store, so what’s the point?  I have coupons in my purse, but I forget to get them out and use them. 

I can shave one pit and forget to shave the other one. 

It is sad. Sad Sally.

Everybody’s been doing these 25 Random Things memes on Facebook lately, and since I recently wrote 100 things on my blog, I’m not really in the mood to create another list of stuff about myself.  In lieu of that, I did a “Memories” meme.  I asked people to write a memory that they have of me.  So far, 16 of my friends have responded.  But the memories?  Y’all, I don’t remember them!   One guy wrote about this summer in college that we all worked together, and I don’t remember seeing him past junior high.  Pitiful. 

So what is it?  Am I just getting old?  I’m getting old aren’t I? Say it.  I’m old.

Dang it.

11 Responses to “I can’t remember where I left my memory”

  1. Allison February 3, 2009 at 10:09 am #

    I’m not even 30 yet and I’m already losing mine…that can’t be good 😦

  2. James Tippit February 3, 2009 at 12:23 pm #

    Katy, I can’t remember any memories of you. Wait, who are you?

    (I crack me up)

  3. Erin February 3, 2009 at 1:10 pm #

    Please tell me you remember the booth in Hello, Dolly! TELL ME!

    And yes, you’re old.

  4. Kristi February 3, 2009 at 1:42 pm #

    I’m feeling the same way. It seems like the more kids I have, the more my brain goes!

  5. Julie February 3, 2009 at 2:08 pm #

    Maybe I’m in denial, but I think it’s more a product of stress and juggling 50 million (just a round estimate) things at a time rather than old age. That’s MY story and I’m sticking to it!!

  6. Heather of the EO February 3, 2009 at 2:30 pm #

    I hear you! I’ve lost my mind too. Don’t feel bad 🙂

  7. Darla February 3, 2009 at 5:08 pm #

    Yes….oh wait, what was I going to write?!?

    Clearly I feel your pain!

  8. Cathy February 3, 2009 at 5:34 pm #

    If you don’t remember the memory I left, don’t worry. My mind is going, too. So, it could have been about someone else or perhaps I made the whole thing up. 😉

  9. Patrick February 4, 2009 at 11:22 am #

    It happens to the best of us. I’m turning 40 this year so I’m guessing it is all down hill from here. I know you recall my favorite memories of you – They all revolve around The King and I in some shape, form, or fashion.

  10. Susan Bourgeois February 4, 2009 at 3:58 pm #

    Dude, we aged out of the “Youth Ball” at the inauguration. They should have had a “Middle-Aged Ball.” Remember the show “Thirtysomething.” Didn’t those people seem old & generally pissed off at the world (and each other). That’s us! Although, let’s try not to be too pissy b/c frown lines aren’t pretty on a face.

  11. Bobbi February 24, 2009 at 9:06 am #

    I want to thank everybody for making me laugh so hard I almost cried… I get in trouble all the time with everyone for forgetting and double booking myself… lol.. I can’t remember anything.. My kids take advantage of that.. lol..

Leave a Reply

