Dear Caring

30 Jan

I’ve written no less than 17 different responses in my head since reading Caring’s comment last night.  Yesterday was a HORRIBLE day with Sweet Pea, made even worse when my Blackberry chimed with a new comment and I read what she had to say.  You all came to my rescue so beautifully and really lifted my spirits.  If you haven’t had a chance to go back and read what everyone wrote, I encourage you to do so.  Not for my sake…skip all the stuff about “funny girl’s a great mom” and read about YOUR children who are different.  YOU are a fabulous group of moms and educators, and I am just glad to be in your presence.

The thing that bothered me above everything else about Caring  is that she represented herself as a Christian by quoting scripture to me, and then went on to behave in a very un-Christlike way with her comments.  So lest anyone lump us all together, let me be clear about this.  As a Christian, I believe there are two things that we have to do:  love God, and love others.  The whole of the gospel is based on just these two things.  It’s what some call “the greatest commandment”.  Sadly, there are MANY individuals like Caring who get so busy trying to love God (quoting scripture out of context, judging people’s behavior) that they forget the second part.  See, she forgot to show love.   And in her righteous attempt at chastising me, I’m afraid that she only served to perpetuate the ugly stigma that all Christians are judgmental, narrow-minded, critical people.

We’re not.  And while the un-Christlike Christians seem to get all the airtime, let me assure you that there are plenty of non-jugmental, open-minded people in our faith as well.  People who are just going about life the best they can…loving God and loving others. 

Peace and love, man.  Peace and love.

10 Responses to “Dear Caring”

  1. Issa January 30, 2009 at 1:18 pm #

    Well said. I’m glad she eventually went away. Life is too short to deal with the asshats.

  2. Darla Baerg January 30, 2009 at 2:42 pm #

    This is the honest truth….your response was perfect.

    Now, write a book.

  3. jane January 30, 2009 at 2:55 pm #

    I hope Caring doesn’t go to my church. We don’t quote scripture – we try to live it. Amen and Adios mean person.

  4. Maryclaire January 30, 2009 at 5:06 pm #

    St. Francis said, “Preach the Gospel at all times. And when necessary, use words.”

  5. Jenny January 30, 2009 at 5:50 pm #

    Amen, sister!

  6. Paul January 30, 2009 at 7:01 pm #

    To love in the face of persecution is an enormous calling, and you did it well. Way to raise the bar.

  7. Spring January 30, 2009 at 8:58 pm #

    Oh my goodness! I just checked in. I think you handled this really well.

  8. Minivan mom January 30, 2009 at 9:29 pm #

    I’m totally late to the party, but UGH. I think you’ve been reading my blog for awhile so you know that I periodically deal with COMPLETE hags and trolls from time to time. Self-righteous cowards, those who love to use the anonymity of the internet to bolster their lack of self-esteem, are just awful to deal with. I think you did a great job (and am happy to see great ladies jump to your defense).

    As for your friend that made the comment – quite frankly, I have no use for people like that in my life. We have an appointment next week to begin a neuropsych eval on my eldest (although lately, I think my middle child is more in need, and will discuss that with him) and it’s exhausting and difficult and challenging, but in no way do I feel this is something I could prevent or cause. Anyone who suggests otherwise has NO clue.

  9. The Introvert January 31, 2009 at 2:29 am #

    ***Standing Ovation*** PERFECT response.

  10. Jessica Bern February 2, 2009 at 2:44 am #

    You are right. I get so mad when I hear these people wrap themselves in the cloak of religion only to judge all that are not EXACTLY like them and I’m talking about all religions.

Leave a Reply

