Lagniappe

26 Jan

SO much to talk about…none of it important, but whatev.

**********************************************************

GASO Update:

Sweet Pea has continued her hygienic ways.  She actually took two (!!) baths last week.  And no fighting whatsoever.  WOO-HOO!!

**********************************************************

The Spelling Bee!!

Sweet Pea was in the school spelling bee last week.  If I may brag for just a minute, she was one of the top 8 scores in the fourth grade on the preliminary test, which earned her a place in the school-wide competition.  I like to think she got her spelling genes from my side of the family.  🙂

Anypoo, I offered her the opportunity to wear her fancy dress, as she would be in front of the whole school and all.  She LOVES her fancy dress, so she was happy to wear it. 

january-2009-32

How is it that she was the ONLY child on the stage wearing anything other than jeans and a t-shirt!?! Where I come from the Spelling Bee is a BIG deal.  You dress up.  Is it just me??

**************************************************************

My Happy Place

Last week we are walking through church and Sweet Pea looks up at Hubs and says “When are we going back to Disney World?”

That’s the Spirit moving, y’all.

As it turns out, there’s a pretty good deal at WDW right now:  buy 4 days, get 3 days free.  So we booked it!  I love trip planning.  This one will be filed under “Doing Disney on the cheap during an economic recession.”    Now I’m not much for Disney in the summertime…I’m spoiled that way.  But our new school district actually CARES if you take your kids out of school, even if it’s for an EDUCATIONAL excursion that includes topics such as Mouse Studies, Physics of Amazing Indoor Coasters, The High Finance of Pin Trading, etc.  So we’ll be going the weekend after she gets out of school for the summer.  (June 7, for those keeping track.)  Hopefully the rest of the country won’t be out yet, and hopefully it won’t be ridiculously hot yet.  But if they are and it is?  Who cares?  It’s Disney!!

*************************************************************

I told my brother the other day that I have a K-mart blog in a world of Anthropologie blogs.  In other words?  I really don’t like WordPress.  When I started blogging I didn’t do any research; I just jumped on and started writing.  But now I want things like a hip theme and customizeable widgets, none of which are available on WordPress.com. 

So I’m asking your opinion:  What should I switch to?  Do you love your blog-host?  Do you hate yours and want to warn me against it?  PLEASE give me feedback, as I’m going to be switching.

*************************************************************

Okay, that’s it.  That’s all I have.

Muah!!!

13 Responses to “Lagniappe”

  1. Erin January 26, 2009 at 1:51 pm #

    I can’t believe those kids wearing jeans! I’m with you – in my life, the spelling bee was huge. I’m proud to say that I always placed 2nd – right behind Erica Hubenthal (I’ll never forget her). Except for that one year when I misspelled “drawer” and the entire audience gasped. I thought my teacher would die…

  2. Allison January 26, 2009 at 2:04 pm #

    Congrats on the continued stinklessness. 🙂

    And I’m pretty sure I dressed up for my spelling bees.

    Oh and I’ve only ever used blogger, so I can’t give a fair assessment on blog hosts…but I do find it easy to use and easy to customize/make cute 🙂

  3. Julie January 26, 2009 at 3:14 pm #

    Yeah for Abigail for dressing up…it’s a lost art with kids these days! (How old do I sound for saying THAT?!)

    Please do a play-by-play of planning Disney on the cheap- I want to take my kiddos this summer or next and it will have to be more budget friendly than the last time we went!!

  4. Darla Baerg January 26, 2009 at 4:33 pm #

    Whoo boy…ok, first things first. I NEED the Disney scoop. We HAVE to plan a trip since 2 of my kids keep saying “it’s no fair you took the other 2”. Gotta make it fair. But I had decided there were no Disney deals. Tell me how girl, tell me how!

    And next…blogspot. I really like it. I don’t know how to use all it has…and don’t even know what a customizable widget is but I’m sure it’s cool. So, that’s my 2 cents.

    🙂

  5. jane January 26, 2009 at 7:25 pm #

    Ok…you really need to do an entire Article on Disney the “Katie Way”….we are going this summer also – as Santa brought it for the family at Christmas and I need to get planning. Where do you love to stay…any major secrets to share…..

  6. Paul January 26, 2009 at 9:21 pm #

    She looks marvelous. No telling who might be watching.

  7. Barb January 26, 2009 at 9:25 pm #

    I don’t remember what I wore for the spelling bee. I just remember misspelling “homonym”. I have spelled it right ever since! Let me guess–was the bee on a Friday? Cuz we love to wear jeans and school shirts on Fridays….

    Go Disney! Need a dog-sitter?

  8. Patrick January 26, 2009 at 9:48 pm #

    I’m also planning to do DW this summer. AVID has a Summer Institute there and I’m planning on getting a spot working it. That will take care of all of my travel and hotel. I’ll just have to pick up the DW tickets. Since I may have to pick up 1 or 2 days of hotel and all of the tickets, I’m looking forward to your DW on a budget ideas.

    My time in SA has been taken up with meetings so I’m sorry I haven’t gotten to visit. Scott and I will plan a real vacation trip back when you start The Pajama Game.

  9. Tracey January 27, 2009 at 12:45 pm #

    Yea Sweetpea! She looks so pretty for the spelling bee! And we’re going to Disney on the 6th! I can hardly wait!!

  10. Donna January 27, 2009 at 5:07 pm #

    I enjoy my blogspot but haven’t really gotten into the whole customization thing. Although I do know it’s possible. It does require a gmail account though.

  11. anymommy January 28, 2009 at 8:30 pm #

    Congratulations Sweetpea – I think a trip to Disney is the perfect celebration.

    I like blogger (google’s blog thing) but tons of people have told me that wordpress is better!

  12. Spring January 29, 2009 at 3:30 pm #

    Am I the only geek who’s going to reply to the wordpress question? yikes. What about simply changing your theme? I have widgets and customizable stuff and I use wordpress.com. Make sure you get a newer theme…or go completely custom!

    BTW you are totally not a kmart blog. THose are the people using the blue and white plain jane themes, as in “KMART SPECIAL”. 🙂

  13. mideastmom January 30, 2009 at 5:20 pm #

    I’m pleased with Blogger. My husband prefers WordPress, though, but his is more of a “professional” blog, so maybe that’s why?

Leave a Reply

