English 101…it’s been a while

14 Jan

Have I told y’all that I’m going to be playing Babe in The Pajama Game this spring?  I am muy excited, as you can imagine.  We start rehearsals the first week of February, so I’m in the process of doing all my homework to be ready when we start.

Yeah, there’s homework.  At least that’s how I work.  I like to do a bunch of research about the time period before I go in, just so I can have something in my head to work with.  Thought y’all might be interested in my reading list.

The story is set in 1954, and Babe is a single woman, working in a pajama factory.  I started by reading 7 1/2 Cents, which is the original play the musical is based on. 

5fa3c9d8cfce6cccbcaf1077f8f62d2d

I also read Revolutionary Road, another work of fiction set in 1954.  (BTW, I do want to see this movie, because I think Kate Winslet is beyond amazing, but heed this warning:  It is a very sad tale of two people doing what they think they’re supposed to do but never really finding happiness.  If you’ve read this book I’d love to know what you thought.)

Then I moved on to Women’s Studies: 

The Feminine Mystique – written as a reaction to the 1950’s.  Absolutely fascinating, if you’ve never read it.

Bachelor Girl – tales of single women throughout American history

Sex and the Single Girl – a hilarious book written in the early 1960’s, explaining “how” to be a single girl

Private Lives:  Men and Women in the Fifties – more tales of life in the 1950’s

I love this part of character development.  Reading and reading and then figuring out who this particular character is in light of that information.  LOVE IT!!

But don’t ask me who she is yet, because I definitely don’t have it figured out.  That’ll come later. 

Hopefully sometime before the show opens on March 20.

5 Responses to “English 101…it’s been a while”

  1. Spring January 14, 2009 at 1:36 pm #

    Would you ever consider doing a post in character as Babe(once you’ve developed more of a sense of the character)?

    Perhaps The World According to Babe?

    It could be fun!

  2. Heather of the EO January 14, 2009 at 2:16 pm #

    That’s a lot of reading. I love that you take a deeper look, rather than just memorizing lines. Way to go. If I lived near you, could I go see you as Babe? 🙂

  3. Patrick January 14, 2009 at 8:01 pm #

    Wow! Did you do the same research for Anna? Scotty and I cannot wait to see the show!

  4. The Introvert January 14, 2009 at 8:20 pm #

    That is so exciting! And I think it’s great how much research you’re doing. You should watch Mad Men too. The lives those secretaries lead are pretty astounding.

  5. anymommy January 15, 2009 at 1:27 am #

    Congratulations! The research sounds fascinating.

Leave a Reply

