On a much lighter note…

10 Jan

Here’s a little story from Christmas I haven’t gotten to tell you yet.

 Too late?  Too bad.

For my entire life I have gone to a Christmas Eve service on Christmas Eve.  Many, many years I went to more than one service, because I was candlelighting or singing.  It is part of my whole celebration of Christmas.  So, when we’re not going to be at home for Christmas, I insist on a do-it-yourself service.  Nothing fancy, and this year, no actual candles.  Basically just a reading of the scripture and the singing of a carol or two.

This year I asked Sweet Pea to help me tell the story.  I found a great deal on a beautiful Nativity set while we were in Breckenridge, so we already had that to work with, but I wanted her to be creative.  She added a few cookie cutters (the angel, a tree) as well as some origami to the mix.  (Because there were dogs, cats, a bat, and  a snake in that stable.  Didn’t you know?)  Oh, and an iced sugar cookie in the shape of a gingerbread man for baby Jesus. 

I read the story, and she moved all the little pieces around to play out the action.  Very precious.

 abs-10th-birthday-ski-trip-christmas-08-81

See the little red baby Jesus laying in the origami manger?  And see the Christmas bat?

Then, no sooner do I read Glory to God in the Highest than she asks if she can eat the gingerbread man.

To which I sighed and replied, “Yes, honey, let’s just sing Joy to the World and then you can eat the baby Jesus.”

I guess we had communion, too.

4 Responses to “On a much lighter note…”

  1. Barb January 10, 2009 at 8:52 pm #

    LOL!!!

  2. growinginprayer January 10, 2009 at 10:03 pm #

    I just happened upon this blog (as I’m incredibly new to WordPress, I’m just stumbling about anyway) and I had to comment on your post.

    Absolutely hilarious – and not unlike the time that, before I was a Christian, I went to my little brother’s Confirmation. It was in a United Church of Christ Church and they passed the communion bowls around. Communion was open to everyone and my grandmother INSISTED (with her eyes, you know how they can do that) that I take bread. So I pinched some bread and came out with TWO.

    I got all nervous and had no idea if I was “allowed” to have two…and while I’m holding it…and freaking out if I should eat TWO bodies of Christ or try to put it back in the bowl (which had moved on of course…but I figured I could catch it on the way past me in the pew behind me)….I dropped it.

    OH.My.STARS. My mother leaned forward, saw the look on my face and motioned for me (again with her eyes, she must have inherited this ability from her mom) to pick it up. I hurried up and put it in my pantsuit pocket.

    Of course…it fell out later, right in front of my mom, my grandma, AND the pastor…when I pulled out my camera to take a picture of my brother!

  3. Allison January 11, 2009 at 8:37 am #

    priceless! 🙂

  4. Julie January 12, 2009 at 8:29 pm #

    That is too funny! I feel the same way about Christmas Eve church services and making a birthday cake for baby Jesus…just wouldn’t be the same without those two things!

Leave a Reply

