I’m Sore…

5 Jan

Yesterday I resumed my post teaching 2nd grade Sunday School – Music and Motion.  We have this cool system whereby all the kids in a grade are divided into six classes, and each week one of the classes rotates to me.  So I teach the same thing six weeks in a row.  Get it?  Anyway, yesterday was week one, so I had new curriculum.  The story this time?  Jonah.

Jonah is all that is good about bible stories – a disobedient guy, a ship in a terrible storm, a man overboard, a whale that swallows said man…what’s not to like?? 

So being that my class is Music and Motion, we did a little singing, and a little moving.  Perhaps you remember a little ditty from your youth called “Who Did?”

Who did?

Who did?

Who did?

Who did?

Who did swa-llow Jo, Jo, Jo, Jo…?

The second verse gets really good:  Whale did, whale did, whale did, whale did…

Remember it?   Well, this is the perfect song for a little stand up-sit down, as fast as we can go.  (2nd graders love when a song gets faster and faster…it’s a gimme.)  So I divide the group in two, and when it’s their turn, they stand and sing their part.  Does this make sense?  We start slow, to get the hang of it.  Then we go faster.  And again, even faster.  And then we go so fast we can’t keep up and we all fall down laughing. 

Good times in Ms. Katy’s Music and Motion, I tell ya.

Except today?  I can hardly walk.  10 squats per verse, two verses per time, and we did it at least 4 times.  That’s 80 squats.  80 SQUATS!!!  And I was wearing heels.  Oy.

I thought Sundays were supposed to be a day of rest.

4 Responses to “I’m Sore…”

  1. Allison January 5, 2009 at 2:18 pm #

    I remember that song…I imagine you ARE sore! Sounds like fun, though 🙂

  2. Allison January 5, 2009 at 2:56 pm #

    Thanks for the sweet comment…our wedding was at St. Vincent de Paul – near the medical center

  3. Jenny January 5, 2009 at 5:27 pm #

    You should have killer thighs by the end of the 6 weeks!

  4. jessica Bern January 5, 2009 at 7:35 pm #

    A workout that is good for the body and the soul. Who’d a thought?

Leave a Reply

