New Year’s Eve (or, I’m too old for this)

2 Jan

New Year’s Eve started out fantastic.  We were invited to the wedding of our dear friends Kregg and Krysti at her parent’s farm, about an hour outside Houston.  The scene was gorgeous…the sun set just behind the bride and groom as they said their I Do’s.  Then we went inside their “barn” (and by barn I mean air-conditioned showplace…the only thing “barn” about it is the red paint.)  The reception was beautiful, the food was amazing, and the wine was flowing.  We had a lovely time hanging with old friends, laughing about old times.  Then it was time to move the party to Houston. 

 At this point I had had a respectable glass and a half of red wine.  Hubs was driving, so no problem there, but as soon as we got on the road I fell asleep.  Yep.  9:30 on New Year’s Eve and I’m sound asleep.  We had planned to stop at Hub’s parents’ house to change our clothes, but I was already in REM mode.  I put on my pajamas and crashed.

Happy New Year!

Now knowing my readership,  I’m going to venture a guess that I’m not the only one who didn’t make it to the ball drop this year.  Who’s with me?  For pete’s sake, let me know that I’m not the only lame 36 year old who can’t stay up ’til midnight anymore!!

11 Responses to “New Year’s Eve (or, I’m too old for this)”

  1. Allison January 2, 2009 at 1:50 pm #

    Girl…I’m 29 and was in bed by 10 🙂

  2. Barb January 2, 2009 at 7:31 pm #

    Uh, sorry, but even my kids made it to midnight with us! We saw the ball drop and even Dick Clark was awake (but maybe he took a LONG nap earlier). That’s okay, I’ll take you out next year!! We are long overdue…

  3. Spring January 2, 2009 at 9:57 pm #

    I was awake to see the ball drop but didn’t go out, so I’m lame too. It’s kinda depressing chatting with the neighbors and having to admit that you’re the only one without plans. ouch!

    Happy New Year!

  4. Donna January 3, 2009 at 2:39 pm #

    I haven’t made it to midnight in a few years. Although since our neighborhood is technically outside city limits I get awakened for the neighbor’s fireworks shows around midnight. I also dream of popping balloons allot that night.

  5. Darla Baerg January 3, 2009 at 3:16 pm #

    Girl…I’m’ 41 and didn’t go to bed until 2:00 am. However I did not have a glass of wine which may have well had the very same effect on me!

    I’m currently surfing your blog to add your “Corny Chex” mis recipe to my Christmas cookbook. Whoo Hoo!

  6. Julie January 3, 2009 at 9:22 pm #

    I haven’t made it until midnight since Hannah was born nearly 7 years ago. Unfortunately, I discovered, children do not appreciate “sleeping in.”

    We told Hannah that she could stay up until midnight if she wanted to…about 8pm she started asking me (every 10 minutes!!) if it was midnight yet. I finally said, “Yep, honey, just about.” And we toated with sparkling apple cider and all went to bed! That’s my girl!!

  7. anymommy January 4, 2009 at 4:46 am #

    I’m with you! We set off a firecracker and had sparkling juice at 7:00 p.m. I went to bed not long after! See, I’m actually worse than you.

  8. Melinda January 5, 2009 at 12:06 am #

    I was in Florida and only made it to 10:45 pm. Most other nights I don’t have any problem staying up til midnight.

  9. Patrick Briggs January 5, 2009 at 12:24 am #

    We made it to midnight and then went to sleep. At midnight, it sounded like Iraq in Dallas. The news the next day said there were over 2000 reports of gunfire and countless drunk drivers. When will people learn that falling bullets kill too? One girl was hit and several cars were damaged. I’m too scared to go out on NYE. Oh no! I sound just like someone who is turning 40 this year. Next I’ll be saying, “Get off my lawn!”

  10. Erin January 5, 2009 at 9:09 am #

    I would’ve been with you last year, but I actually stayed up this year! As you know, I couldn’t get to Krysti’s wedding, so we had some friends over to our house while Emma slept and we played Rock Band all night. We rang in the New Year and then CRASHED. Awesome.

  11. brianseay January 5, 2009 at 3:40 pm #

    All 6 of us were barely awake at midnight. We watched the ball drop, the kids drank some grape juice from real glasses and the parentals had a nice glass of wine. We then promptly fell asleep and stayed that way until about 10am.

Leave a Reply

