One Simple Question

5 Dec

Why is that when you’re depressed you just want to do all the things that are off limits  to make yourself feel better?  

My first urge is to  blow $250 at Anthropologie.  I KNOW that would make me feel better.  And following in a close second is putting away an entire extra-large bag of m&m’s.   (And by “putting away” I mean putting the candy-coated goodness straight away to my hips.)  Chocolate is a valentine to my soul. 

I’m sorry, but “Gee, I feel like crap.  I think I’ll go run a couple of miles” never crosses my mind.  

And don’t tell me that I can just do those things in moderation.  $20 doesn’t buy jack at Anthropologie.  And that little bag of m&m’s at the cash register?  What’s the freakin’ point?

So your challenge for today?  Give me some things that are free (both monetarily and fat-wise) that make you feel better when you’re down in the dumps.

9 Responses to “One Simple Question”

  1. Allison December 5, 2008 at 4:03 pm #

    Okay this may be dumb, but it just makes me laugh EVERY time… go to elfyourself.com and make your family into dancing elves. It is guaranteed to make you smile. It’s just so silly 🙂

  2. Barb December 5, 2008 at 6:19 pm #

    Katy, “It’s business…. I’ts business time”!! At our house, this is the cure-all for any troubles!

  3. meg December 5, 2008 at 7:43 pm #

    a long nap and an afternoon chatting with friends.

  4. Spring @ Forever Spring December 5, 2008 at 8:22 pm #

    Meditation. I know…sounds new age-y…but it really works for me.

  5. T. December 5, 2008 at 10:38 pm #

    Last night on call I went to youtube.com during some “down time” and watched Pinky and the Brain reruns while eating microwaved popcorn. I thoroughly enjoyed myself.

  6. Heather of the EO December 6, 2008 at 8:06 pm #

    I am NOT the girl for advice for healthy alternatives. Sorry. But, um…
    movies?
    comedy central?
    rolling around on the floor?
    sitting alone and smiling (they say smiling makes something physical happen that makes you feel good, but I don’t know how powerful that could possibly be…)

    Sorry, I’m all out. Lame, I know. I got nothin’

  7. Marinka December 7, 2008 at 9:42 pm #

    Wasn’t there some scientific study about how chocolate makes you feel better and it’s all medically sound and we will all die unless we have some M&Ms immediately?

    (Oh, and the reason that you never say ‘let me go run 10k to feel better” is because you’re not insane.

  8. Patrick December 8, 2008 at 5:55 pm #

    Go to Youtube and watch old Tony performances. Also watch Seth Rudetsky deconstruction videos on Youtube. I spend hours watching them. You can see performances from the Tony Awards from years past. You can also watch the winners accept their awards. They also have pretty much the entire show of several shows including Wicked that someone bootleged. Be sure to watch Turkey Lurkey from Promises Promises. You cannot be down in the dumps after that.

  9. The Introvert December 9, 2008 at 4:53 pm #

    Honey, you just read my mind. I have had the worst week, and all I want to go is go to Anthropologie RIGHT NOW!! In other words, I don’t think I can help you because I am in the same boat. We should hang out.

Leave a Reply

