It’s a Marshmallow World

3 Dec

Well, okay, it’s not at all a Marshmallow World.  But I really like that song.  Makes me want hot chocolate.  And snow.

I know, I know.  Keep dreamin’ sister.

We’ve got an absolutely ka-razy couple of weeks upon us.  We are leaving for Breckenridge, Colorado on December 19.  (First ever long-distance road trip with Sweet Pea…may the good Lord bless us and keep us.)  And Sweet Pea’s birthday is the 15th.  So between now and the 19th I’ve got to do all her birthday shopping and all the Christmas shopping, plus make a cake (and fudge – it’s what she wants), get the ski stuff tried on and replaced, and have a colonoscopy.  Oh wait, did I say that?  Yep.  To add to the fun I’m having a colonoscopy next Friday.  ‘Cause nothing says Merry Chrismas To Me like a good old-fashioned colonoscopy.

But I’m in denial until next Thursday, so back to the topic at hand.  Shopping.  We’ve always bought all of Pea’s gifts and then split them into birthday and Christmas/Santa.  It would be so easy to skimp the birthday with Christmas 10 days later, but we tried hard not to.  And since she still believes in Santa (yippee!!) we definitely don’t want to skimp on that.

Although I’m not sure we’re going to be able to pull off “one free sleigh ride to the North Pole and a week spent working with your elves.  PPPPPLLLLEEEEEAAAAASSSSSSEEEEEE!!!”

She is getting some Nintendo DS games, a bed for her American Girl dolls (from Target, but whatever), a bunch of American Girl accessory sets (the Coconut vet set, the doll feel-better set, the Licorice cat), Miley/Hannah karoake cds, and a new charm for her charm bracelet.  Oh, and a new razor scooter.  ($22 at Target on Black Friday – couldn’t pass that one up.  Her present razor is beat to a pulp.) 

We went back and forth on getting her a new AG doll, but she has two already, and I’m just not sure she needs another $120 doll.  (This is where my desires from childhood really start to creep into good, sound decision-making.  When I was 10 I would have absolutely LOVED a new doll, and three would not have been too many, but there’s a big difference in me and Sweet Pea, and I am trying very hard not to relive my childhood through her.  It’s hard though.)  I did pick up a Target doll that is dressed like a Veterinarian.  She knows the difference, but I may write a note from Santa and say that he got that one for her because he knows how much she likes taking care of animals.  Still debating, but for $33,  I can think about it. 

I love the thinking and planning and list-making and shopping.  And the piped-in music and the bell-ringing and the dorky santa hats on grumpy checkers.  And peppermint lattes.  And late-night wrapping.  And watching Christmas Vacation for the umpteenth time.  (Can I refill your egg nog for you?  Get you something to eat?  Drive you out in the middle of nowhere and leave you for dead?)   

Come on, tell me you’re with me.  Tell me what you love about the holidays.  And while you’re at it, tell me what you’re getting your kids. 

Did I mention I love this time of year?

Because for these few weeks, it IS a Marshmallow World.  (And in the spirit of AnyMommy, 5 points for anyone who can write the lyrics without googling or looking them up!!)

11 Responses to “It’s a Marshmallow World”

  1. Allison December 3, 2008 at 2:32 pm #

    I had an AG doll when I was little – Kirsten 🙂 She was perfect until I decided it would be smart to undo her factory-assembled braids. Her hair was never the same after that 😦

  2. Erin December 3, 2008 at 3:22 pm #

    This year, Emma is getting a little kitchen and an indoor playground. I’m sure books, clothes, and little music toys will be thrown in there, too. We really need to go shopping! I don’t get out on Black Friday (bless you for having the courage), so we try to buy throughout the entire year and save up. In fact, when we took out all our Christmas decorations, we found MANY gifts we bought last year, the week after Christmas, for all our work friends! WOO-HOO!!!

    And unfortunately, Marshmallow World has never been a favorite so I don’t know the words. Any other songs we can quote?? I even know “The Christmas Polka!”

  3. kathrynsmoore December 3, 2008 at 3:35 pm #

    Erin – I loved the year that Sweet Pea received her indoor playground. That was a HIT! And I can’t even begin to describe the joy that comes from being served plastic peas on a plate, prepared with love by your little one. Precious!!

  4. Erin December 3, 2008 at 3:48 pm #

    And here you have it: THE MERRY CHRISTMAS POLKA!!!

    “Come on and dance the merry Christmas polka
    Let everyone be happy and gay
    Oh, it’s time to be jolly and deck the halls with holly
    So let’s have a jolly holiday.”

    We had a book of Christmas songs from Time Life and I knew every song in there by heart. LOVED IT! It even had The Little Boy That Santa Claus Forgot:

    “I’m so sorry for that laddy
    He hasn’t got a daddy”

    Most depressing of them all…

  5. meg December 3, 2008 at 7:18 pm #

    Due to the omnipresent financial crisis (and owning a “vacation home” in Austin which we can’t afford to visit) we are cutting way back on Christmas. All three kids are getting a Little Tykes Digital Camera (Donovan has been wanting to take pictures with my digital SLR and desperately wants one, and we all know the chaos which will ensue if there are not cameras all around….)

    Nikki is getting some chapter books and a watch (one with a dial, instead of digital). Olivia is getting a little kitchen (bring on the peas!) and some dance shoes for upcoming classes. And we still have to figure out one more thing for the D-man. Probably something with wheels and a remote control.

    Santa is bringing faux Crocs for all three… ($2 a pair at Wally World, thank you very much… 2 pairs of fuzzy ones per child) Think that will fill up a stocking? Other than that, we are thinking fill the stocking with fruit. (Cheesy, but we can get away with it)

    And Santa is bringing Mommy a new Cricut Expressions! WHOO HOO!

  6. meg December 3, 2008 at 7:20 pm #

    P.S. I did the colonoscopy thing two years ago… piece of cake. (Especially with what you’ve endured.) The worst of it is the prep… but if you put the drink stuff in the freezer so its a bit slushy, or at least really cold, its better.

  7. jane December 4, 2008 at 11:18 am #

    OK…here is my AG logic for this year. (Last year she got a baby from Learning Express that wasn’t 120.00). When she found out Samantha was being retired – she had an all out panic attack. She has wanted Molly and never gotten her and is scared she will be retired next (if they go in order). She loves Samantha and Nellie so much (I mean a ton) that I ordered Molly. I asked her what else she wanted – nothing but Molly (so I will get the Wii Disney singing thing anyway and some books & stuff). So if you don’t do the AG thing you might want to get Samantha & hide it for later if her retirement is going to cause and uproar! Kate is getting surprise birthday this year “mommy & me got to AG center in Dallas for tea & spa” instead of a kid party. Jack is LEGO-Lego-lego crazy easy….Good luck on the Colon intrusion…..

  8. Spring@Forever Spring December 4, 2008 at 1:32 pm #

    We;re having a wee bit of a modest Christmas…but I’m especially proud of the “artist studio” youngest is getting, with the help of a drafting table from auntie. She’s only 7 but a natural artist and I feel like the best mama ever by supporting her talents and gifts (wait…the gift is supposed to make her happy? I did not get that memo!)

    For newest, we are getting some therapeutic toys from FatBrainToys.com to help her with relaxation and socialization, which she really, really needs.

    Oldest is easy: chapter books and science gear with a few My Little Pony things thrown in for good measure.

    I do not like Christmas, or holidays in general, but always love to read about those who do!

  9. Barb December 4, 2008 at 11:30 pm #

    Well, since I crashed the van into the mailbox last month, we are on a tight Christmas budget. Paul found a Wii Fit, and I ordered the movie Wall-E. I will see if there is any extra money at the last minute, otherwise that will be it. But we are all going to be in the church musical, so that will be a fun family experience!

  10. Julie December 9, 2008 at 3:04 pm #

    I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this time of year!! For me, it’s gingerbread lattes and hot chocolate with whipped cream on top! I love the wrapping, and secrets, a house that glows with Christmas lights on the tree, hiding the Elf on the Shelf each night after the kids are in bed, baking tons of cookies to share with friends, watching my kids decorate cookies for Santa, seeing the explosive excitement in them as they open the little windows on their Advent calendars each day…the list could go on and on…

    This year our daughter is getting “Biscuit” the Fur Real doggy, the Barbie cruise ship and a doll that (supposedly) really swims on the surface of the water. Our little guy is getting a dump truck with big legos, a “roller coater” car on a track that he can ride and a talking broom (he loves to sweep…go figure!).

    I just love the anticipation of the season and wish it would all last a little longer so I can catch up!

  11. Vaniqua December 10, 2008 at 3:29 pm #

    There’s a song called Marshmallow World? All I can think of is Louis “Satchmo” Armstrong singing Wonderful World. Do you just substitute “Marshmallow” for “Wonderful?”

    The kids are getting bikes. That’s right sister – the big boys with training wheels. OK, Matt’s is small. Kate’s bike is orange (hideous, but her favorite color) with purple flowers. Matt’s is Lighting McQueen from Cars. They have no idea. I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

