Bloggy Love-In

24 Nov

fabulousblog

Big thanks on this week of thankfulness to my new bloggy-friend Allison who gave me this award.  She found me through All-Mediocre (can I get a what-what?) and it turns out we were both working at TCH at the same time, so we probably crossed paths at some point and didn’t even know it!  Crazy talk!!

In response to this award I am supposed to name five things that IMHO are fabulous.  So here they are, without further ado:

1.  New York City at Christmastime.  Snow.  Shopping.  Girlfriends.  Awesomely crazy hats that embarass said girlfriends.  Piano bars.  Gay men singing showtunes at piano bars.  The whole thing is freakin’ FABULOUS!!!

 nyc20christmas20wrapping

2.  Harry Connick Jr. at Christmas.  (Clearly I’m ready for the holidays!)  I realized the other day that I’ve been lovin’ on Harry since Vaniqua and I used to blast the When Harry Met Sally album back in 1990.  Those horns!  Anyway, his first two Christmas albums are great, and the third doesn’t disappoint.  I especially love Santariffic and the Winter Wonderland duet with his daughter.  FAB!

 51muhp82lrl__sl500_aa240_1

3.  Naps.  I heart naps with all that is in my soul.  Hubs does not heart naps, so it is a point of great contention with us.  Nevertheless, I maintain – naps are fabulous.   Who’s with me?

(No cute nap picture.  You know what it looks like.)

 4.  Mad Men.  If you saw this show, you know what I’m talking about.  If you missed it, RUN to your nearest video store and start with season one.  There are only two seasons, so it won’t take you long to get through them.  The best acting on television, along with the best sets, costumes and hair.  It’s a period piece; New York in the 1960’s.  Spank your mama, it’s FABULOUS!

madmenseason2

 

5.  Musical Theater.  In it’s entirety.  Ever since my parents put on The Chorus Line album when I was 8 (don’t worry, they didn’t play Dance 10, Looks 3) I’ve been hooked.  I borrowed a friend’s dance costume and freestyled to One Singular Sensation for the 5th grade talent show.  (Oh to have THAT on video!)  I used to listen to The Sound of Music over and over again, until I had my Julie Andrews voice totally perfected.  I wanted to be Annie so badly I turned my room into the orphanage and choreographed Hard Knock Life, complete with flying (paper) plates.  I know it’s cheesy, but I’m cheesy.  I’m Velveeta.  But there is something about those stories told through that music that speaks to me in a very deep place.  It makes me laugh and cry and get all tingly, and I just love it.   Check out these cast albums; they’re some of the MOST fabulous:

41bnv6837sl__sl500_aa240_

51e56r1qval__sl500_aa240_

518fr06-1gl__sl500_aa240_

612brx2bcorql__sl500_aa240_

51nbwnu5fal__sl500_aa240_

So now it’s time for me to name my winners. 

Erin…an old (young) theater friend who is a total blast!

T of Notes of an Anesthesioboist…I wish we had ever worked together.  We could’ve sung Something Good.

Amber at the Fancy Pants Factory…who is too busy to name 5 fabulous things because she’s busy being fabulous herself…You Go Girl!!

Amy at Blessings Over Seays…my college roommate, sorority little sister, and maid of honor who is also busy being fabulous right now; she’s getting ready to go to Africa to bring home two fabulous kids to add to her already fabulous brood of four!!  Move over Carol and Mike!

Stacey at Is Anymommy Out There…my bloggy friend Any is fabulous in her courage and in her beautiful writing.  She and her precious family are presently on an extended trip to a beautiful island somewhere in the Pacific.  How fabulous is that??

9 Responses to “Bloggy Love-In”

  1. Seth Ward November 24, 2008 at 2:06 pm #

    I seriously heart naps. They are tremendous for your heart. Some people (Fancypants) do not need naps, nor do they understand anyone else’s need for them. However, I am convinced that those of us who do NEED the nap do not sleep as peaceful or undisturbed throughout the night.

    There are two kinds of people: Those who need naps and those that think that those who need naps don’t really need them.

  2. T. November 24, 2008 at 11:50 pm #

    Thanks for the shout out! I’m working on my 5 things as we speak…

    BTW…have I ever mentioned I played Connie Wong in a college production of A Chorus Line (yes, of course, the token Asian girl!)?

  3. anymommy November 25, 2008 at 5:22 am #

    Pretty fabulous all around! Thank you, darling, for the shout out and the kind words and, oh well, everything. I think you’re fabulous too. And, NYC for the holidays, yummy. Usually, I turn up my nose at naps, but in my current condition, oh how I heart them.

  4. flickrlovr November 28, 2008 at 7:00 pm #

    I love napping. Ahhhhhh.
    I wanted to see Legally Blonde the Musical, but never got up to the city to see it-maybe I’ll check out the soundtrack…

    I’m here from AllMediocre 🙂

  5. jessica Bern November 30, 2008 at 1:37 pm #

    How about Grease! I am old enough to have seen the original and OMG! it was fantastic and then there was Dreamgirls, of which I also saw the original. Too bad I have literally no vocal range. I would sooner piss myself than sing in front of people.

  6. The Introvert December 2, 2008 at 9:14 pm #

    I LOOOVVEEE Mad Men. I can haz Betty’s wardrobe? And Don Draper wrapped in a bow?

  7. Kimberlee December 17, 2008 at 12:06 pm #

    You crossed my mind and I immediately decided to check on your blog to see how you’re doing. I love naps and Mad Men too! I’m so glad I have someone to watch it with now!
    My wardrobe’s gone retro since that show. Been buying petticoats and everything! Hee Hee!
    My naps are gone now because I have a chorus part in Grease..it’s at a little community theater in Pasadena.
    It’s fun and I still pick up tunes and dance routines like yesterday rather than (ahem) 15 years ago. The director wants me to try out for Mary Hubert of Nunsense, I need vocal lessons for that..I’d appreciate any references!
    Anyway, I miss you dearly…hope to hear from you soon!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. There’s scientific evidence…naps ARE fabulous! « funny girl - November 30, 2008

    […] @ 4:14 pm Tags: naps After I posted my strong opinion (actually, it’s a fact) that Naps Are Fabulous, my neighbor Kara sent me this […]

  2. This, that, and the other « funny girl - December 17, 2008

    […] be some napping going on.  One good thing about a car trip – napping is allowed, and you know I love me some napping!!  With any luck we’ll have a safe trip, and make some happy memories along the way.  Or we […]

Leave a Reply

