It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like…

16 Nov

It’s too early, right? 

Too early for decorations, and lights, and a TREE, for pete’s sake.  Certainly it’s too early for serious baking.  And it’s got to be too early for the music…

Right?

Wrong. 

Apparently, the Christmas Season now begins on November 1.  And I don’t mean just the shopping season.  I mean the whole darn thing.  The lawn displays, the house lights, even the music.  We’ve got a radio station that started playing 24 hour Christmas music on November 1. 

Seriously.

I thought about fighting it.  I really did.  But then I thought, you know what?  I love Christmas.  So why is it a problem if I enjoy it for two months instead of one?

One of my friends calls the whole thing “Christgiving”.  (Guess he could’ve gone with Thanksmas, but it doesn’t have the same ring.)

So deck the halls, people.  Ring those silver bells.  Haul out the holly.  (Cliche overload much?)

Happy Merry Christgiving Thanksmas!!

4 Responses to “It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like…”

  1. Barb November 16, 2008 at 7:54 pm #

    Okay, I have to put my foot down here. If I start listening to the Christmas music before Thanksgiving, then I get burned out on it by the time Christmas really gets here. Usually my rule is Dec. 1 to start the Christmas music, but I can handle it once Thanksgiving is over. As far as the decorations on people’s homes and in the stores, I just ignore it. I do NOT let it pressure me! I grew up in the Methodist church where all of the Advent activities are on a strict schedule and I LIKE IT! 🙂

  2. Erin November 17, 2008 at 10:34 am #

    All my Christmas albums have come out. LISTEN ON, SISTA!!! By the way, if you haven’t gotten Kristen Chenoweth’s Christmas album – YOU MUST! You’ll just die, it’s gorgeous!! Best one of the season!! If you don’t get teary-eyed during “Sleep Well Little Children/What a Wonderful World,” then I don’t know you…

  3. Julie November 17, 2008 at 3:29 pm #

    I love Christmas too and can’t wait for the music to be 24/7 on some of the radio stations!! If we had an artificial tree I would have already put it up!! Can’t wait to go to the tree farm on the day after Thanksgiving…

  4. Spring November 18, 2008 at 5:19 pm #

    Yay for having fun and hurray for celebrating early this year! Yippee!

    Other years I’d be a scrooge and say “Wait till after Christmas” but this year in particular, I think it’s a brilliant idea!

    Happy Merry Thanksmas Christgiving to you too!

Leave a Reply

