The One Hundred

11 Nov

First, some business.  I made it out to run again today.  2 miles.  Unfortunately when I got home at 5:45 my Sweet Pea was awake.  Which wasn’t so bad in that she was in an amazingly good mood…

until it was time to go to school an hour and a half later.  Then?  All hell broke loose.  There was screaming, kicking, gnashing of teeth…and that was just me!  She was worse.  Oy.

Anyhoo, I’ve got something fun up my sleeve today, inspired by my friend Vaniqua (not her real name but she thinks she might want to be the President one day so she only enters the blogosphere undercover).  Good friend Vaniqua sent me a happy:  The One Hundred: A Guide to the Pieces Every Stylish Woman Must Own by Nina Garcia, FashionEditorforElleMagazine.  (If you watch Project Runway, maybe that little wordy joke worked.)

In her book, Ms. Garcia lists 100 items that one MUST own.  Well, Vanny and I decided to engage in our own little Nina Garcia Challenge.  List at least 10 pieces you own now, list another 10 that you hope to procure over the next 15 months, and list any items that you absolutely will NEVER own.

Today, I will share with you a few of the pieces that I already own.  Let me start by saying how FABULOUS I feel in actually owning even one of her listed items.  I was very surprised; the list is mostly practical, and not altogether outrageous budget-wise.  (Although there are exceptions…$70 tights?  Please.)

I should also share with you a bit about my personal style.  First, it’s evolving.  I’m getting braver the older I get (which could be a bad thing…there’s nothing scarier than an old woman in teeny-bopper clothes, so you’ve got to be careful when you get “brave”).  I know my body better, so I generally know what fit works and what doesn’t (no side pockets on pants ever; nothing says Mama’s Got Big Hips like pockets.)  I know what colors I can (orange, yellow, green) and can’t (grey, pale pink) wear.  And I’m doing more and more experimenting with accessories:  scarves, hats, bracelets, rings.  I used to be a matchy-match girl, and I still am to some extent.  But these days I’m much more willing to combine colors or even shades of colors for a more “fun” look.  All that to say, I believe my style has evolved from preppy soccer mom to a slightly bohemian, vintage-y look.  Pretty specific, right? 

Okay, so here’s the partial list of items I own.  I’m not going to list them all, because some are obvious (khaki pants) and some don’t deserve to be on a fashion list IMHO (iPod).

Ray Ban Aviators (the originals from 1992)

Animal Print Scarf (from Lane’s grandmother)

Charm Bracelet (my dad’s sister’s; complete with my grandmother’s high school ring…probably one of my most prized possessions)

Clutch purse (my mom’s gold metallic clutch from the 70’s – fabulous)

Frye boots (mine are knock-offs, but I heart them just the same)

LL Bean tote (green and gold with my monogram, bought by my mom for my freshman year at Baylor)

Red Lipstick (Chanel gloss – Love it!)

Floppy Sunhat (just call me Me-Maw)

Stilettos (my favs, especially with long jeans)

 

Tomorrow I’ll be back with the list of Wants.  Why not? Christmas is just around the corner, and Hubs occasionally reads my blog (hint, hint!)  In the meantime, what’s your personal style?  And what’s in your closet that you just adore?

3 Responses to “The One Hundred”

  1. Spring November 11, 2008 at 11:34 am #

    My personal style is designer-on-a-budget. In other words, I check out the designers and then try to reproduce it as best I can on a teensy weensy budget 🙂 I also try to be very figure flattering, cause I’m muy pear-shaped (I look crazy delicious in high-waisted, wide leg pants, I gotta say).

    So there you have it!
    I like clothes and looking good, but I’m not obsessed with it and I don’t worry about what other people around me are wearing.I also really believe that women can look good at any size or age.

  2. debcny November 11, 2008 at 10:34 pm #

    wow… nice job getting your run it. You are inspiring me to at least get my WALKS in.

    Both my personal style and favorite things in my closet are lacking…. probably because I haven’t been getting my walks in!

  3. The Introvert November 11, 2008 at 11:36 pm #

    My personal style could be described as a hybrid of Audrey Hepburn and a Victoria’s Secret catalog. I love sophisticated and classy, but I wear a lot of stilettos.

Leave a Reply

