Like the Wind

10 Nov

Today is the start of a new era in my life.

No, I’m not going to start selling Avon.  And I’m not going back to school (although some day…).  And I’m not starting a new job.  And I’m definitely not pregnant.  No, gracias.

I’ve agreed to be a running partner for my neighbor.  And we started today.

No big deal, right?  I love to run. 

Just not necessarily at 5:00 in the morning.

I’m not a morning person.  At all.  Lane has been known to hide for hours in the morning just to avoid my wrath.  And claws.  And fire-breathing capabilities. 

But…I’m all about accountability, and I desperately need to exercise, so this time I’m all in.

Of course there were the usual jitters:  couldn’t get to sleep last night and then woke up every half hour from 2:30 on.  But, when the clock went off I jumped out of bed no problem.  This is a minor miracle, for which I’m very grateful.

We ran for about half an hour and walked another 15.  Now it’s 6 and I’ve already eaten breakfast and there are biscuits in the oven for Sweet Pea.  Feels like it could be a good morning.  At least I have hope.

Hope, and stronger calf muscles and slightly smaller thighs (right?)…now that IS a good morning.

forrest-gump

6 Responses to “Like the Wind”

  1. Marinka November 10, 2008 at 8:08 am #

    Wow, congratulations! That is a big step. I probably shouldn’t tell you that every time I woke up early to swim/run, whenever 3 pm rolled around, it felt like midnight, right?

  2. Amy Seay November 10, 2008 at 12:05 pm #

    YOU GO, GiRL!!!!!!!

  3. Julie Ottosen November 10, 2008 at 3:43 pm #

    You rock! I love to go walking, but I’m not up for running unless someone very large is chasing me!!

  4. Jessica Bern November 10, 2008 at 7:16 pm #

    I have been a runner all my life until my cartilage took a permanent vacation. That being said, I’m very impressed with your commitment. I won’t commit to anything before 9, okay, well there’s the part where I have to take my kid to school but only under the threat of arrest will you get my ass out of bed that early )okay a large sum of cash would do it, I’ll admit.

  5. The Introvert November 10, 2008 at 11:57 pm #

    Yeah, I got up for the 5:30 boot camp. And I, too, couldn’t fall asleep. I woke up at 3:00 and then fell asleep just in time for my alarm to go off. Fun times. But I did get a lot done before lunch. Unfortunately, I was ready to go to bed by 3 PM.

  6. DS November 11, 2008 at 11:53 am #

    I’m shocked, No really I’m shocked. But a little encouragement from Arizona…”run with patience the race that is set before you.”

Leave a Reply

