The Film

6 Nov

This morning I went to Sweet Pea’s school to watch The Film with the 4th grade girls. 

Yes, THAT film.

It wasn’t too bad, actually.  A little too scientific for 4th graders maybe, but otherwise pretty good.  They giggled a little but seemed to pay attention overall.  

After the movie was over, the nurse for the school district (not our local school nurse) had a question and answer session, and also a show-and-tell with pads and tampons.  This lady was your typical old-school nurse.  Probably in her late 60’s, very authoritative and practical.  She was perfect for the job because she was NOT going to give in to the giggles.  HOWEVER, she fell prey to that error that so many women do…

She said min-i-stration instead of men-stru-ation. 

And she said PREE-spir-ation instead of PER-spiration.

In my book, that’s inexcusable for a nurse.  I can’t tell you how many times I heard people say that in nursing school.  Especially ministration.  It’s not a form of the word “administer”.  It’s not a form of the word “minister”.  It’s MEN-STREW-A-SHUN. 

(It’s also Nuc-LEE-ar, not nuc-U-lar, but that’s another story.)

If you’re gonna teach ’em this stuff, at least teach it right!!

Okay, let me get down off my high horse and tell the rest of the story.

She explained that if they started their period in class, they should tell the teacher, who would let them go to the nurse.  We have a very cute, young, male 4th grade teacher at our school named Mr. Randolph.  The kids love him.  But you see the problem…one very sweet little girl raised her hand and timidly asked “what do you do if your teacher is a boy?”  And I loved the lady’s response.  “You tell him you have a personal matter.”  She told the girls that all men understand that this is a special code, and they will let you go.  I’m not sure if I really believe that ALL MEN are that adept, but we can hope, right?

They also asked a lot of questions about cramps.  Now the film said that girls shouldn’t really have cramps, and if they do, light exercise will help.  (My arse!!)  My daughter is looking at me like “See, mom, quit your complaining, get out of the bed and do some exercise, and your cramps will be healed!  Easy!!”  We’ll have to have that discussion tonight, for sure. 

All in all it wasn’t too bad.  Well, not to bad for them.  For me, I just feel REALLY old.

How is it possible that my daughter is entering pu…puber…I can’t even say it.

Good Lord, help us all.

10 Responses to “The Film”

  1. Marinka November 6, 2008 at 11:02 am #

    I can’t believe that I’ve never heard of “mini-stration”–it sounds like a miniature castration or something (but I think that’s PMS). Love this post. I can’t say puberwhatever, either.

  2. Spring November 6, 2008 at 4:56 pm #

    Ummm…they get that talk in fourth grade? OH GOSH! I had no idea that my babies (7,8,&9) were so old…this is giving me heart palpitations!

    It’s not that I’m uncomfortable with puberty,it’s that they are suddenly *people*, not little babies, and it’s freaking me out!!!!!!!!

  3. Barb November 6, 2008 at 6:30 pm #

    Woo hoo! Been through this with Sarah and Lord help us when her body starts changing! What did Abigail say about the film?

    P.S. We have the book “The Period Book”

  4. anymommy November 7, 2008 at 7:45 am #

    Seriously. I remember this talk. I dread giving it.

  5. Kristi November 7, 2008 at 9:15 am #

    Did the school send a note home to notify you this was going to happen? I need to call our school…I would hate to be blind-sided!

  6. Jenny November 7, 2008 at 12:25 pm #

    Okay, I’m so glad right now that my kids are 3 and 1. I’ve got lots of years to prepare for this talk!

  7. debcny November 8, 2008 at 9:53 am #

    Ahhhh… isn’t puberty fun? Just starting to deal with all kinds of fun issues wit our 11 year old too..
    Fun Fun!
    debcny

  8. Georgie November 8, 2008 at 12:02 pm #

    I LOVED your men are that adept comment!

    stopping by from allmed to say hi

  9. Patrick Briggs November 11, 2008 at 12:19 pm #

    TOO funny. I’m going to use the exercise line the next time I hear a friend complain. Belive it or not, they did tell us (men teachers) about the special code. We are not that adept. If they did not tell us, we would have asked a lot of dumb a$$ questions of little girls – “What kind of personal matter?” or “Sit down and deal with your personal matter on your personal time.”

  10. debcny November 12, 2008 at 8:04 am #

    Patrick – Ha!

    “Sit down and deal with your personal matter on your personal time.”

    good one…

Leave a Reply

