Hopalong CassiPea

5 Nov
Poor Sweet Pea jammed her toe.  She was playing on the big dirt pile at the empty lot across the street and somehow tripped on the mini-bulldozer that’s parked there.  (Don’t hate me; all the kids have been playing King of the Mountain…who can resist a big pile of dirt?) 
Anyway, Monday we had an appointment to get her new earmolds (from the “dog ate my hearing aids” episode recently) so she was only going to be at school for a little while. I just decided to keep her home and let keep it up with ice on it for awhile. After the audiologist appointment, we tried to get some crutches, but it turns out you need a prescription. So we went to the urgent care place near our house, and we were in and out with x-rays and a special shoe in one hour. Amazing!

The only problem with the shoe? It’s not crutches. I remember being a kid and thinking crutches were the coolest thing in the whole world. And no amount of explaining that they actually HURT has been able to satisfy my Sweet Pea. She refused to wear the shoe on Monday afternoon, and started to balk yesterday morning…

Until I pulled out my Ace: You can only ride the elevator at school if you’re wearing the special shoe.

Ha-HA! Brilliant mommy strikes again.

We got out the sharpies and decorated it, because let’s face it, that’s no Manolo Blahnik. It’s ugly. And girlfriend has enough fashion sense to know it.  She insisted that I write “caution” on one velcro strap and “wounded toe” on the other. It came out pretty cute, if I do say so myself.

img_0901
So when she got home from school she told me “Everyone wants to be my friend now!”  She was incredulous.  Isn’t that sad?  Why do 4th graders have to be so weird?  We can’t be friends because you’re fun, or funny, or smart, but we can be friends because you have a hurt foot and I might get to ride on an elevator with you.  Ugh.
One Response to “Hopalong CassiPea”

  1. Kristi November 5, 2008 at 10:29 pm #

    That is sad. I don’t remember it being this way when I was growing up. Of course, I may have been naive.

Leave a Reply

