I Voted (it says so right here on this little sticker)

27 Oct

Regardless of the outcome of this election, I am reminded of the PRIVILEGE that it is to vote.  It is easy to forget that there are many places in the world where people are not free to elect their leaders.  It has been less than a century since women achieved the right to vote in this country. 

 I am fortunate, and grateful for the freedom that is mine. 

Grateful for a democracy, where the majority rules, for better or worse. 

Grateful for a choice in government. 

Grateful to be an American. 

Somebody cue the patriotic music and pass the Kleenex…I’m all verklempt.

4 Responses to “I Voted (it says so right here on this little sticker)”

  1. Julie October 28, 2008 at 3:52 pm #

    AMEN, Sister!! I took the kids with me to vote to try to instill this thinking in them too at an early age!

  2. Barb October 28, 2008 at 6:51 pm #

    I mailed my absentee ballot last night and showed the kids how that works….

  3. anymommy October 28, 2008 at 6:57 pm #

    It’s a great thing to remember. I mailed in my ballot yesterday.

  4. Spring October 29, 2008 at 2:56 pm #

    Yay for voting! I feel particularly proud this year that so many people seem to be out voting early! I don’t ever remember that happening before…

Leave a Reply

