Facebook Etiquette

25 Oct

I’ve told you already about my love affair with Facebook.  Seriously.  It’s like having a class reunion without the too-cold hotel ballroom and too-rare roast beef carving station.  It’s all the good with none of the bad.

Except…

What do you do when your ex-boyfriend finds you? 

Do you ignore or do you accept?

If you ignore he might think that you’re still holding on to whatever stuff there was at the end of the relationship.  On the other hand, if you accept he might think you’ve never gotten over him.  And on top of all that, what are you going to tell Hubs?

To be honest, I only have one of these guys in my past, and he’s not on FB.  All my other “exes” live in Texas are friends of mine.  No weirdness at all.  But if this one guy finds me, it’s gonna be AWK-WARD!

So, how are you Facebookers handling this dilemma?

3 Responses to “Facebook Etiquette”

  1. T. October 26, 2008 at 12:37 pm #

    How about, if your Ex does try to befriend you, asking your husband, “Hey, Hubs – Ex just found me on facebook. Do you think he would take it the wrong way if I ignored it?”

  2. The Introvert October 27, 2008 at 9:36 pm #

    Most of my exes aren’t tech-savvy enough to understand new-fangled technology like FB. But if this is an ex I never talk to who found me out of the blue, I think I’d accept, and just write a casual “hey how’s it goin’? I’m married with a kid; how about you?” message on their wall.

  3. Barb October 28, 2008 at 6:55 pm #

    You know, it just depends on who it is. I had one ex who found me on myspace and I accepted it because he is harmless. But I have another ex who I would just ignore and block! Don’t want to even remember that I dated him!!

Leave a Reply

