The Dog Ate My Hearing Aids

16 Oct

No kidding.  And not just once either.  It’s happened before. 

You’d think we’d be smart enough to prevent this kind of thing.  We are. 

And yet it keeps happening.

This time she sniffed them out from the front pocket of Sweet Pea’s backpack, managed to dig her paw all the way in there to retrieve the thing, and then hid from us to do the deed. 

I should’ve known it was too quiet.  I should’ve known something was up when she was sitting on the second step instead of the landing at the top of the stairs. 

Dumb Dog.

And dumb mom.

I swear my heart stopped when I saw that hearing aid laying on the floor.  It’s a wonder my defibrillator didn’t go off.  (Geez, that would’ve been the icing on the freakin’ cake!)

And all this on top of a perfectly horrible evening…major meltdown, homework unfinished, no bath…ugh.

So, anyone in the market for a cute little dog?  The adorable girl comes free!

5 Responses to “The Dog Ate My Hearing Aids”

  1. Kristi October 16, 2008 at 7:59 pm #

    OMG! I’m so sorry. Do you have a “back up” set? They are both precious….but I’ve got my own lovely children that I’m trying to manage.

  2. Barb October 16, 2008 at 8:23 pm #

    Bad dog! Go to time out!

  3. Julie October 18, 2008 at 2:37 pm #

    I could throw in an absolutely adorable (and great with kids!) 20 pound orange cat that won’t quit chewing the baby’s pacifiers, if that would sweeten the deal!

  4. anymommy October 19, 2008 at 11:48 pm #

    Ugh. I so don’t want another dog when I read things like this. Why are dogs so weird about what they like to chew up.

    Hey – thanks for your note about the neck stump line, that was one of my favorites yet and I was tickled you noticed it!!! A true sentiment, I’m afraid.

  5. GiGi October 27, 2008 at 8:39 am #

    You keep the dog, I’ll take the adorable girl…..in a heartbeat!!!!!

Leave a Reply

