It’s Fall, Y’all!

6 Oct

Down here in Texas, it’s still summer.  Seriously.  I’ll be sweating like a pig when I walk up to school to pick up the Sweet Pea.  But since it’s October, everybody’s got their pumpkins out and I’ve bought my candy corn.  We do our best.  The leaves won’t change until Christmas.  But whatever.

So in the spirit of Fall, we decided to take a family fun day to Hondo, Texas for the South Texas Maize.  Yee-haw.  I’m not sure how they do it, but these people have a MASSIVE maze on their farm.  And for a small fee (clearing throat…$9/adult!!) you can act like you’re on Survivor and get lost in the maze.  Pretty fun, actually. 

That lasted about half an hour before Sweet Pea got bored and decided to try all the other stuff at the farm.  She shot corn cobs out of the corn cannon, fed the goats, and climbed on the hay bales.  She also spent some time on the “corn popper”, which is really just a big trampoline.

We polished off a couple of bags of kettle corn, and then topped that off with some Texas Barbecue.  Delish!  All in all, a fun day!!

In related news, Sweet Pea is thinking of being an Angel for Halloween.  Does anyone else find that funny?

So far, she’s considered Elphaba (otherwise known as the Wicked Witch of the West) and Jessica Simpson (what am I doing wrong??)  I always wait until at least mid-October before buying anything because I know she’ll change her mind a million times before finally landing on something.  Ve shall see…

What are your kids going to be??

7 Responses to “It’s Fall, Y’all!”

  1. Julie October 6, 2008 at 2:18 pm #

    I LOVE the idea of Sweet Pea being an angel- definitely beats Jessica Simpson- ugh! This year I’ve got a Dorothy (who gets to wear DARK red lipstick “because she really does wear it in the movie, Mommy!) and a really cute lion (whick I must say I got for a mere ten bucks at the almighty WalMart!) I LOVE trick-or-treating and seeing all the kids dressed up- can’t wait!

  2. Barb October 6, 2008 at 4:51 pm #

    Look out, here comes the party pooper! We don’t do Halloween at my house. The kids think I’m mean, but I don’t care. I tell them that if they want to dress up and go trick or treating they have to ask their dad to take them. Since he never goes for that, I buy them candy myself and we usually leave the house and go have family fun somewhere until all the trick-or-treaters go away.

  3. T. October 6, 2008 at 5:45 pm #

    My daugher actually suggested we go as The Addams Family this year. I’m intrigued. The last time we dressed up as a family as about 5 years ago when we went as a low-income medieval family with a Power Ranger. The other thought I had was to go as Anne Boleyn, because I’m totally addicted to the Philippa Gregory books right now…my son could be the executioner (totally his style)!

    BTW, about Lea – don’t know if you saw my follow-up comment, but we actually were in school together!

  4. DS October 7, 2008 at 11:12 am #

    My kid is going as Carol Channing. I’ve seen her in the costume and it is absolutely amazing how much she looks like the real Carol. And when she speaks and she sounds exactly like Carol.

  5. Erin October 7, 2008 at 11:31 am #

    Emma’s Tinker Bell, Adam’s Hook, and I’m Wendy. 🙂

  6. Vaniqua October 8, 2008 at 1:38 pm #

    I think that Lane should be Tony Romo & Sweet Pea should go as Jessica. Lane could sport a Dallas Cowboys baseball cap and a stupid jock look. Mine are Little Bo Peep & a sheep. The sheep isn’t fond of his costume, so we’re working with him each week. By the way, the corn maze is actually sorghum – it grows taller. I learned this a few years ago. They have to call it corn, because who wants to go into the “sorghum maze.” I know, I’m a wealth of useless knowlege!

  7. The Introvert October 8, 2008 at 11:23 pm #

    LOVE kettle corn. In fact, I was just thinking of making some. You should move up to Dallas. It was actually cool here for the second day in a row (and by cool I mean like 68 degrees)! Crazy, right?

    I don’t have kids, but since Halloween is my birthday, I get all into it. I’m going as a flapper. I’ve got the Velma Kelly hair going, so it was a no-brainer.

Leave a Reply

