Eat, Pray, Love

27 Aug

Have you read this book?  I borrowed it from my mother-in-law on one of my trips to Houston this summer.  She didn’t like it, but I wanted to see for myself. 

I understand why she didn’t like it, but I rather enjoyed it.  In this travel memoir, the author describes Italian food in such detail you feel like you gotta get a slice or you’ll die!  Her descriptions of prayer and meditation are inspirational.  And, lucky girl, it all ties up neatly when she falls in love. 

There were lots of nuggets to think about, but one I liked in particular and thought I’d throw to y’all for some mid-week discussion.  She learns from a friend in Rome that each city has a word; one word that completely describes the place and the people.  In Rome, he proposes, it’s SEX.  The Vatican is POWER.  She goes on to choose ACHIEVE for NYC and SUCCEED for Los Angeles.  And then she tries to choose a word for herself.  One word that describes her life.

And so begins our discussion.  What is the one word that describes your whole life right now?  Certainly, there are many to choose from in my own life…FRUSTRATION, IMPATIENCE, ENDEAVOR…but my one word?

JOURNEY.

Now it’s your turn.  What is the word that describes you?  Can’t wait!!

11 Responses to “Eat, Pray, Love”

  1. anymommy August 28, 2008 at 12:08 am #

    I’m going to choose LIVING. I’m trying to put myself fully into each and every moment and live it completely, so that I won’t have any regrets when these little wonders are all grown. I don’t know how well I’m succeeding though.

  2. Julie August 28, 2008 at 10:03 am #

    I hate that this is my one word for right now, but if I’m being honeset, it really is…SCHEDULES. I feel like I am running in a hamster wheel trying to get the baby’s nap SCHEDULE to mesh with his big sister’s new school SCHEDULE, then I’m trying to get dinner SCHEDULED to be earlier each night so that I can get everyone to bed on some sort of SCHEDULE so they are not grumpy in the morning when we have to start the whole SCHEDULE thing over again!! So, there you have it. Hopefully that won’t be my word for long!!

  3. Kristi August 28, 2008 at 1:43 pm #

    I really had a hard time coming up with just one word. You really make me think. And I’m not really happy with this word, can’t quite put my finger on it. Anyway, my word is TOPSY-TURVY. Too many things going on with my kiddos and me. Would love to get a grasp on it all.

  4. Lotta August 28, 2008 at 3:53 pm #

    For some reason I had a hard time liking this book too. Though I’m not sure why. But I still want to play. Ok, one word for my life right now? Scattered.

  5. DS August 28, 2008 at 4:14 pm #

    A friend whom I admire and respect has taught me the word “faithwalking”. It clearly relects my day to day dependence on God’s leadership and love. That’s where I am today and tomorrow.

  6. Cathy August 28, 2008 at 5:15 pm #

    Very good question…

    What first came to mind was CONTENT. Possibly for the first time in my life, I truly believe I am CONTENT. But, that doesn’t quite go far enough. So, I am going to go with THANKFUL. I’m kind of surprised that is my word, but it fits. Am I also often times FRUSTRATED, STRESSED, OVERWHELMED, EXHAUSTED, UNCERTAIN, SCARED, etc., etc., etc.? You bet. I have a 2 year old, a nine month old, 2 dogs, a husband, a 30 hour a week job (which really means 30 hours while the kids are awake, 45-50 total), and an hyperactive Mom’s fear of all real and perceived dangers… you bet I am all those other words. But, when it really comes down to it, I know that for so many reasons I am BLESSED and for that I am extraordinarily, breathtakingly THANKFUL. I have a husband I love, 2 babies I adore, friends who keep me sane, family who ground me, we have a roof over our heads, food on our table, and I have a job I like most days. I work hard not to take those things for granted and to appreciate them every single minute of every single day.

    So, quite simply, I am THANKFUL.

  7. Barb August 28, 2008 at 8:24 pm #

    Same here, I don’t like to admit my word, but it is BUSY. I would very much like for my word to be BALANCED, but it isn’t right now. That is my goal in life, to be BALANCED.

  8. Minivan mom August 28, 2008 at 9:40 pm #

    OVERWHELMED

  9. Trish August 29, 2008 at 8:53 am #

    I’m going to go with INDEPENDENT. I’m standing up for myself more than I ever have before, and feeling very confident and self-assured. If someone pushes me, I let them know it’s not acceptable. Age has its advantages!

  10. Jenny August 29, 2008 at 5:04 pm #

    I read this post a couple of days ago, but couldn’t come up with a word at the time. As I was trying to run a simple errand today and ended up chasing my son through the store, then struggled to get both kids in their car seats in the 100 degree heat of a Houston afternoon, then was driving home and couldn’t stop sweating until I figured out my son had turned the seat warmer on high, the word came to me. ADVENTURE! My life is an adventure. Not necessarily the fun hike-up-the-mountain-and-see-a-pretty-waterfall kind. But an adventure none the less. I never know what to expect, but everyday I face a new challenge and discover a new joy!

  11. Donna Solitario August 31, 2008 at 2:31 am #

    A inspirational book

Leave a Reply

