English 101 – Summer Recap

20 Aug

I started the summer with the following blog from 6/11/08:

 “Okay folks, it’s that time of year…time for Summer Reading.  Yay!!

Here are the books on my list to start the summer:  (btw, these are linked to Amazon for your clicking pleasure)

The Shack (I’m almost through…it’s really good.)

Water for Elephants

Running with Scissors

The Film Club:  A Memoir

To Kill a Mockingbird

The New Yorkers

Friday Night Knitting Club

Now in my opinion, summer reading should be light and fun.  Lots of romance, a little intrigue, plenty of laughs.  Nothing too heavy.  A couple of my titles go against this policy, but what can I say, I’m making an exception. “

So I’m back, ready to admit to what I actually read, what I didn’t finish, and what I never started.  Let’s start with What I Liked:

     I liked The Shack.  I didn’t love it, but I liked it.  It got me thinking, and that’s always good. 

     I liked Friday Night Knitting Club…Mostly because it was set in Manhattan, but for other reasons as well.  I didn’t love the main character as much as I should have, but just reading about knitting seemed to have a calming effect on me.

Now for the Not So Much category:

     Running with Scissors just didn’t do it for me.  I read a couple of chapters and gave up.  I didn’t care about the main character, and I really didn’t care about his crazy mother and her doctor.  I guess I’m too much of a “color inside the lines” person…their bizarre behavior didn’t resonate with me at all.

     I read more than half of Water for Elephants but then gave it up as well.  Honestly the descriptions of the animals’ treatment was more than I could bear. 

     The New Yorkers was dumb fluff, IMHO.  Didn’t keep my attention at all.  Bummer.

Finally, the I Didn’t Get to It category: 

     To Kill a Mockingbird – a re-read is still on my to do list.

     The Film Club – the library has this one on order for me, so I’m waiting it out.

Now for the current reading list:

Eat, Pray, Love – So far, so good

Bringing Up Geeks – a non-fiction book about raising kids that I will discuss in great detail later…lots of good ideas.

What You Should Know About Politics…But Don’t – an unbiased, issues-based primer about American Politics, with just the right amount of detail for an election year.  Maybe it’ll help me figure out who the heck I’m going to vote for!!

 So, fill me in.  Did you read anything good?  What did you hate?  What’s on your bedside table as we kick off the school year?  GO!!

3 Responses to “English 101 – Summer Recap”

  1. Insta-mom August 20, 2008 at 4:15 pm #

    The Impressionist is still on my list–it was my July Book of the Month. Sigh–someday. And I need to read To Kill a Mockingbird because I’m teaching it in September. You’re the first person I’ve heard NOT gush about Water for Elephants. Love that there is more than one perspective on that book.

  2. Julie August 21, 2008 at 9:54 am #

    I’ve just started Sacred Parenting by Gary Thomas. He’s been at our church for a few weeks this summer and I’ve found him very insightful. The book is not a “how-to” parenting book with step-by-step instructions for raising kids. Instead, it is a book about how raising our kids affects us and shapes us spiritually. So far it is really good- I’ll keep you posted!

  3. Erin August 21, 2008 at 12:32 pm #

    OK, Lisa Gardner had a new book released this summer called “Say Goodbye” that was absolutely amazing. She’s my favorite mystery/detective writer and this was a book I could NOT put down. It was a little disturbing, but once you got through it, it was worth it. Other than that, I’ve been re-reading the Harry Potter series. 🙂 When are you going to start Abigail back on that?

Leave a Reply

