Funkytown

24 Jul

So I’m finally moving out of my funk and getting on down to funkytown…a much better alternative.  Thanks so much for all your words of encouragement!!  I think my favorite has to be from my MUCH younger neighbor “mdw”…he’s sort of becoming a second little brother and I appreciate the fact that he makes me keep it real. 

 So, keepin’ it real, here’s the deal  (just call me Busta Rhymes):  Sometimes funks happen.  And I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that.  And I’m too old(!) to try to fake it for any real length of time.  I prefer to call it by it’s name and then move on.  So that’s what I’ve done.  Boom.

 Now it’s on to a fun, relaxing weekend at the lake with our dear friends.  (Well, as relaxing as a weekend at the lake can be with 6 kids under the age of 10.)  And then to Houston to direct theater camp for a week…lots of fun there…if teaching 30 elementary age kids to hip hop is your idea of fun!  Actually, that is my idea of fun, but I know I’m gonna be completely worn out when it’s over.  Then I’ll have a week to recover before lather, rinse, REPEAT!!  Clearly I was ambitious when I was making my summer plans.  “Sure, I can travel back and forth to Houston FOUR times.  No big deal.  I love to drive.  And I really love spending $4 for every gallon of gas to get me there!  And living out of a suitcase with my 9 year old for a week at a time?  Easy, breezy, beautiful Cover Girl.”  Oh, I jest.  The truth is there isn’t anything I’d rather be doing.  (Except maybe a week at Disney World.  I’m not gonna sit here and lie.)  I love singing and dancing, I love kids, I love to TEACH kids…it’ll be a blast. 

 Y’all have a great rest of July…I’ll check back in at some point over the next couple of weeks.  (Unless the children do me in.  In which case someone please call for help.  Thanks.)

 PS.  Are you watching Project Runway??  New season!!  If you’re an avid watcher you MUST go over to http://projectrungay.blogspot.com/ for a hilarious take on the show.  (WARNING:  these guys are flaming and they’re not afraid to flaunt it.)

PSS.  We saw The Dark Knight last night.  Wicked.

8 Responses to “Funkytown”

  1. sheasy July 24, 2008 at 12:58 pm #

    Have a greaet trip and thanks for the PR tip!

  2. anymommy July 24, 2008 at 8:48 pm #

    That is awesome. Can I come and take your class, maybe I won’t humiliate my daughter when she’s in her teens.

    Glad that you’re feeling better. Have an wonderful time.

  3. Ms. B. July 25, 2008 at 3:03 pm #

    The kids will be in good hands with you as their teacher. When do we get to see you perform again?

  4. MadWomaMeg July 26, 2008 at 2:34 am #

    Have a good trip. You are braver than I am. Nice to see you came out of the funk…it’s hard to do sometimes eh?

  5. Trish @ Another Piece of the Puzzle July 26, 2008 at 8:38 pm #

    Hope you have a great time at the lake and the camp goes well. We are on a mini-vacation for a family reunion and then back to work on Monday!

  6. Trish @ Another Piece of the Puzzle August 1, 2008 at 2:07 pm #

    Hi I am back and I have tagged your for a meme if you want to play along.

  7. Patrick August 5, 2008 at 12:35 am #

    Hey Mrs. Anna,

    I do read your blog but summer travel (for work) has kept me from responding. I am in Chicago now and I’m thinking as I’m knocking on 40’s door that age is a state of mind. It’s just a funk and you will and have gotten over it. 36 is not mid life so don’t go out and get the red sports car. 36 is life. You have so much to be thankful for and so much to offer. I love that you are going to be teaching. When sweet pea is a little older, start working on your teaching certificate through an alternative certification program. You will love teaching in the public schools and I know you would be GREAT. I recall how you worked with the kids during The King & I. Happy Belated Birthday. Mine was last Monday and I’m officially 39 (for the first time). Live life and have a great rest of the summer. It goes by too fast to spend it in a funk. Next time you are like this, just “Whistle a happy tune …”

  8. kimberlee August 19, 2008 at 9:51 am #

    I thought about you when this season started…Who’s your favorite designer so far? I like Terri and I liked Kelly…but except for the lipstick jungle outfit, of course. Kenley is okay too…I just think she’s a witch for laughing at Daniel when they are supposed to be close. Stella loves tha letha! lol…

Leave a Reply

