Sharing Time

2 Jul

 

We returned yesterday from a couple of days at the Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch in lovely San Antonio, TX.  Most of you know that we actually live in San Antonio, so you may be asking why we bothered.  Well, my friends, it’s a little thing called $49 a night.  How could we pass that up??

 

We had a sweet little studio, a beautiful pool, a lazy river, poolside bar, and no agenda.  Well, except for the two hours we spent with our new friend Brandon who tried to sell us on the many benefits of a Hyatt time share.  Now I’m not gonna lie, there are many benefits.  But it also costs MANY dollars. 

 

Have you been to one of these deals?  We never have, and we were dreading it (me more so than Hubs, but I think that’s cause he takes pretty much everything in stride and I don’t) but we knew it had to be done.  Lucky for us, we were assigned to a totally adorable young salesman named Brandon.  I think he’d been on the job for all of two weeks.  He was very laid back and not pushy at all.  That’s a good thing, ‘cause I went in with my dukes up, but I quickly relaxed.  We told him some stuff, he told us some stuff, we told him some more stuff, he told us some more stuff, and at this point I was actually getting convinced that this might be a good deal. 

 

New York, ColorADO, ITALY, SWITZERLAND…ALL MY VACATION DREAMS COMING TRUE…FOR THE REST OF OUR LIVES!!!

 

Then we started talking money.  Good grief.  It’s 2008, the economy isn’t exactly booming, and they lay out a $40,000 deal with the expectation that you’ll put a huge chunk down, IN CASH, and then pay the rest off over 5 years (at the low, low interest rate of 13.9%).  Please.  We smiled ever so politely and said No Thanks.

 

Then comes the hard sell.  The car salesman.  The big guns, as it were.  The annoying, pointing-finger-in-my-face sales pitch from the manager of the place.  It wasn’t pretty.  In fact, if that finger had come close to my nose one more time…but we sat politely, and said No Thanks.  Again.

 

And that was it.  We left with an extra $150 in gift certificates to use at the resort and we were back at the lazy river in less than 30 minutes.  We ordered everything on the menu for dinner, plus drinks to boot.  (I wasn’t going to let those gift certificates go to waste!)

 

All in all, it was not too big a sacrifice for the great deal we got.  And the best part was, we were home 30 minutes after checking out of the hotel.  No pesky “travel day” blues; you know, when all of your fun vacation memories are erased by the last day of hellish airline travel, made worse by the depression of knowing that your vacation is over and life starts back tomorrow.  None of that…just good times. 

 

I think we may vacation in San Antonio more often.  J

 

 

9 Responses to “Sharing Time”

  1. Chris Moran July 2, 2008 at 1:34 pm #

    Nice writing style. Looking forward to reading more from you.

    Chris Moran

  2. T July 2, 2008 at 4:00 pm #

    This makes me want to come back to San Antonio. Haven’t been there in 25 yrs, but I have fond memories – flamenco music coming from a house in the King William area; the best apple crumble ever at a restaurant called Cappy’s; a lovely visit to the missions…

    But I didn’t get to pay homage to Sandra Cisneros (her periwinkle purple house, the Woman Hollering Creek sign), and at the time my two good friends who live there didn’t live there yet, so I’ve got lots of reasons to enjoy S.A. again!

  3. Jenny July 2, 2008 at 4:41 pm #

    That sounds like great fun! Kudos to you for being willing to sit through the Time Share presentation. I don’t know if I could do it – I have bad memories of sitting through those things with my parents when I was a kid. But if I thought I could sit there and be done in 30 minutes, well that’s worth it!

  4. Andrea's Sweet Life July 2, 2008 at 10:08 pm #

    The time share people have provided us with many beautiful weekend getaways. Hubby and I are pro’s at “NO” since we have little kids!

    Good for you!

  5. sheasy July 3, 2008 at 10:34 am #

    Ha! That is so funny! Travelling close to home is the way to go.

  6. Minivan mom July 3, 2008 at 10:46 am #

    We are foregoing our San Antonio weekend this year in lieu of the lakehouse adventure, but with me getting steady employment again, we’re hoping to do both next year! Sounds like fun.

  7. Maura July 3, 2008 at 4:01 pm #

    Those spiels can be rough, that’s for sure. I bought into the first one I heard (because I knew others had joined and I could handle it), which makes it a tad easier to say “no” to others!

  8. Julie July 6, 2008 at 8:27 pm #

    We’ve perfected the “no thanks” followed by, “well, we could write you a check but you’d have to handle it with asbestos gloves.” That always does the trick- they seem to stop pushing after that!!

  9. Ms. B. July 7, 2008 at 1:15 pm #

    Sounds like you guys had a wonderful weekend. We spend three great days in the Bahamas due to one of these outings once. However, we should have left it at that. Our next attempt was a disaster. You just never know.

Leave a Reply

